Top of page

« Back to Authors page

Web Page Alice McDermott

Alice McDermott
Photo credit: Beowulf Sheehan

Alice McDermott is the author of eight novels, including “Charming Billy,” which was the winner of the National Book Award and the American Book Award; “That Night,” a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Pulitzer Prize; and “The Ninth Hour,” named one of the top 10 novels of 2017 by The Wall Street Journal and Time magazine. Her latest book, “What About the Baby?: Some Thoughts on the Art of Fiction" (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), muses on the joys and struggles of literary craft. Throughout her career, McDermott has received numerous honors, such as a Carington Award for Literary Excellence, a Whiting Award and an F. Scott Fitzgerald Award for American Literature. For more than two decades, she was the Richard A. Macksey Professor of the Humanities at Johns Hopkins University.

Selected Works at the Library of Congress

Appearances at the 2021 National Book Festival

Videos from the 2021 National Book Festival