Pulitzer Prize Winners Respond

On January 29, 2016, the Library of Congress hosted thirteen Pulitzer Prize winners, who were in Washington, D.C., to help launch a yearlong celebration of the centennial of the Pulitzer Prize. The authors were individually interviewed about several topics, including their reaction to receiving the prize, the research many of them had done at the Library of Congress, and the experience of those who had participated in the National Book Festival. They were also asked to name a book—or books—they thought had done the most to shape America. This video captures their responses.

  • Rita Dove, winner of the 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry for Thomas and Beulah
  • Jennifer Egan, winner of the 2011 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction for A Visit from the Goon Squad
  • Joan Hedrick, winner of the 1995 Pulitzer Prize in Biography for Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Life
  • Jeffrey Marx, winner of the 1986 Pulitzer Prize in Investigative Reporting, Herald-Leader in Lexington, Kentucky
  • Philip Schultz, winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry for Failure
  • Tracy K. Smith, winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry for Life on Mars

Read a transcript of the video (PDF, 39KB)