The Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom was developed under the leadership of James H. Billington, Librarian of Congress. The exhibition is made possible by a generous grant from Newman’s Own Foundation and with additional support from HISTORY ®.

Special Thanks

Special thanks are due to the following individuals for their support of the exhibition and their scholarly assistance:

Julian Bond, Taylor Branch, Elsa Barkley Brown, Melvin  Patrick Ely, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Wesley C. Hogan, Thomas F. Jackson, William P. Jones, Rep. John R. Lewis (GA-5th), Kenneth W. Mack, and Patricia A. Sullivan

Exhibition Team

  • William Jacobs, Chief, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Carroll Johnson-Welsh, Kimberli Curry, and Betsy Nahum-Miller, Exhibition Directors, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Adrienne Cannon Curator, Manuscript Division
  • Alan Gevinson, Media Curator, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division
  • Robert Brammer and Pamela Craig, Curators, Law Library
  • Maricia Battle, Curator, Prints and Photographs Division
  • Risa Goluboff, Lead Advisor, University of Virginia School of Law
  • Debra Newman Ham, Consulting Curator, Morgan State University, with research assistants Marcus Allen, Leslyn Ham, and Sarah Johnson
  • Patrick Shepler, Registrar, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Karen Werth, Production Officer, Interpretive Programs Office

Interpretive Programs Staff

Denise Agee, Vicki Fortuno, Martha Hopkins, Tambra Johnson Reap, David Jung, Christopher O’Connor, Cheryl Regan, Marc Roman, Patrick Shepler, Rachel Waldron, Cynthia Wayne, and Chieh Lin (intern)

Library of Congress Staff

Roberta I. Shaffer, Library Services; Robert Dizard, Elizabeth Morrison, and Geraldine Otremba, Office of the Librarian; Sue Siegel and Sara Karrer, Development Office; Betsy Peterson, Kathryn Stewart, and Guha Shankar, American Folklife Center, Alexis Ainsworth, Matthew Barton, Valerie Cervantes, Kelly Chisholm, Eugene DeAnna, John Grandin, Rosemary Hanes, Rebecca Jones, Patrick Kennedy, Paul Klamer, Andrea Leigh, Gregory Lukow, Mike Mashon, Rob Michelem, Ken Mitchell, Keith Paramore, Rachel Parker, Bill Rush, Jennifer Sidley, Zoran Sinobad, Rob Stone, Josie Walters-Johnston, Kenneth Weissman, and George Willeman, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound; Helena Zinkham, Beverly Brannan, Sara Duke, Phil Michel, and Woody Woodis, Prints and Photographs Division; James Hutson and Barbara Bair, Manuscript Division; Georgia Higley, Serial and Government Publications Division; Samuel Perryman and James Wintle, Music Division; Eric P. Frazier and Rosemary Plakas, Rare Book and Special Collections Division; Andrew Cassidy-Amstutz, Megan Harris, and Rachel Mears, Veterans History Project;  Ed Redmond, Geography  and Map Division; Kaare Chaffee, Sylvia Albro, Julie Biggs, Mary Elizabeth Haude, Dana Hemmenway, Cyntia Karnes, Holly Krueger, Dan Paterson, Susan Peckham, and Heather Wanser, Conservation Division; Kathleen Ott, Brynda Harris, and Stephen Kelley, Congressional Relations Office; Jody Feder, Thomas Neale, and Walter Oleszek, Congressional Research Service; Elizabeth Pugh, Hope O’Keeffe, Shaun Trudeau, and Emily Vartanian, Office of The General Counsel; Dominic Sergi, Andrew Cook, and Jade Curtis, ITS Digital Scan Center; Lee Ann Potter and Stephen Wesson, Office of Strategic Initiatives; Jim Karamanis, Thip Padavong, Laura Moiseev, and Qun Lai, Web Services; Gayle Osterberg, Lola Pyne, and Donna Urshel, Public Affairs Office; Susan Mordan-White and Stacie Moats, Visitor Services

Special thanks to artist David S. Johnson for use of his image, We Demand, 1963

Exhibition and Brochure Design

HealyKohler Design

Interactive Design and Multimedia Integration

Greg Blair, Dale Alward, Ruth Burke, Nick Williams, and Joan Blair, Blair Dubilier and Associates