This exhibition was developed under the leadership of James H. Billington, the Librarian of Congress.

Interpretive Programs Office

  • William Jacobs, Chief
  • Karen Werth, Production Officer
  • Christopher O’Connor, Lead Production Specialist
  • Susan Mordan-White, Educational Specialist
  • Patrick Shepler, Registrar

Tambra Johnson Reap, Vicki Fortuno, Marc Roman,  David Jung, Kimberli Curry, Betsy Nahum-Miller, Carroll Johnson-Welsh, Denise Agee, Cynthia Wayne, Martha Hopkins, and interns Chris Brusatte and Melissa Morgans

RiggsWard Design, Richmond, Exhibition Design

Library of Congress Curatorial Team

  • Cheryl Regan, Exhibition Director, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Michelle A. Krowl, Civil War and Reconstruction Specialist, Manuscript Division
  • Margaret E. Wagner, Senior Editor, Publishing Office

Sara Duke and Carol Johnson, Prints and Photographs Division; Clark Evans (ret.) and Mark Dimunation, Rare Book and Special Collections Division; Georgia Higley, Newspaper Section, Serial and Government Publications Division; Jim Martin and Pam Craig, Law Library; Robin Rausch, Music Division; Ed Redmond, Geography and Map Division; Jim Karamanis, Thip Padavong, Rohit Gupta, Laura Moiseev, Qun Lai, Web Services

Special thanks are due to all of the following individuals from the Library of Congress for their support and efforts to realize this exhibition: Roberta Shaffer and Deanna Marcum (ret.), Library Services; Helena Zinkham, Prints and Photograph Division; Barbara Bair, Laura Kells, and Janice Ruth, Manuscript Division; Kaare Chaffee, Dana Hemmenway, Lisa Moberg, Jamie Schmeits, Julie Biggs, Lynn Kidder, Ann Kruger, Susan Peckham, Holly Krueger, Betsy Haude, Sylvia Albro, Heather Wanser, Cyntia Karnes, Lage Carlson, John Bertonaschi, Dan Paterson, and Alan Haley, Conservation Division; Thip Padavong, Laura Moiseev, Joon Yi, and Jim Tani, Office of Strategic Initiatives; Athena Angelos and Ralph Eubanks, Publishing Office; Andrew Cook, Jade Curtis, and Glen Krankowski, Digital Scan Center; Gayle Osterberg, Donna Urschel, Lola Pyne, and John Sayers, Public Affairs Office; Sue Siegel, Development Office; Dorothy Gholston and Timothy Blount, Printing Management Services

And for their advice and guidance we extend our thanks to Gary W. Gallagher, Douglas L. Wilson, Lucas E. Morel, Thavolia Glymph, Joan Waugh, James O. Horton, Kathryn Allamong Jacob, and Ira Berlin.