Freud: Conflict & Culture

SIGMUND FREUD: CONFLICT & CULTURE was organized by the Library of Congress in cooperation with the Sigmund Freud-Museum, Vienna, and the Freud Museum, London.

This exhibition and its programming were made possible through support provided by:

Discovery Communications, Inc.
City of Vienna
Austrian Cultural Institute, New York
Alfred A. Knopf
James Madison Council of the Library of Congress
Mary S. Sigourney Award Trust, New York
Dr. and Mrs. Kenneth Altshuler
The Charles A. Dana Foundation, New York
Ministry of Science and Transport, Austria

American Psychoanalytic Foundation
Lotte Köhler Foundation
Austrian Airlines
√Ėsterreichische Lotterien
Hoffmann-La Roche Inc.
O.S. Wyatt, Jr., Houston
American Psychoanalytic Association
Embassy of Austria
New-Land Foundation, New York
Peter Sobolak, Vienna
the other generous private contributors

Staff for the Exhibition

Curator, Michael S. Roth, Associate Director,
The Getty Research Institute for the History of Art and the Humanities, Los Angeles

Interpretive Programs Office

Irene Chambers, Chief
Cheryl Regan, Exhibition Director
Debbie Durbeck, Production Officer
Chris O' Connor, Giulia Adelfio, Denise Agee, Scott Brouard, Jennifer Bride, Kimberli Curry, Seth deMatties, Martha Hopkins, Carroll Johnson, Tambra Johnson, Briton Jones, Sally Livingston, Robin Mitchell, and Gwynn Wilhelm

Manuscript Division

Marvin Kranz, James Hutson, and Fred Bauman

Conservation Office

Rikki Condon and Andrew Robb

Development Office

Norma Baker, Jan Lauridsen, and Larry Stafford

Film Research

Sam Serafy

Film Production

Montage Productions Ltd.

Picture Research

Athena Angelos and Sharon Hannon

Other Library of Congress Staff

Kim Moden and Nancy Mitchell, Special Events Office; Jill Brett, Craig D'ooge, and Yvonne French Public Affairs; Ralph Eubanks and Iris Newsom, Publishing Office;Domenic Sergi and Michael Smallwood, Information Technology Services; Winston Tabb and Elizabeth Miller; Library Services; John Richardson, Stanley Bangdon, Julian Lowery, and Jeff Anderson, Printing Division; Mike Mashon, Allan McConnell, Patrick Loughney, and David Francis,Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division; Prosser Gifford and Sherry Levy-Reiner,Office of Scholarly Programs; Jim Higgins and Yusef El Amin, Photoduplication Service; Gary Columbia, Chris Hansen and Ruth Nelson,Office of Contracts and Logistic, Margarit Krewson, European Division

Exhibition design, logo and brochure

Chermayeff & Geismar Inc., New York

Special thanks are due to all of the following individuals for their support of this exhibition and their scholarly advice and expertise:

Harold Blum,Erica Davies, Hannah Decker, Morris Eagle, Peter Gay, Ilse Grubrich-Simitis, E. Ann Kaplan, Patrick Mahony, Lydia Marinelli, William McGrath, Michael Molnar, Inge Scholz-Strasser, and Carl Schorske

In addition we extend our thanks to:

Kari Weil, Charles Salas, Elizabeth Garrett, The Getty Research Institute, Axel Frohn, Faye Dale Browning, Rebecca Rabin, Zaia Alexander, Beverly Grindstaff, John Bowles, Darcy Buerkle, Matt Reed, Alexander Waintraub, and Thomas Roberts

The Freud Collection:

The Library of Congress Freud Collection was donated primarily by the Sigmund Freud Archives under the leadership of former director Kurt R. Eissler and the present director, Harold Blum.

Staff for the Online Exhibition

Interpretive Programs Office

Cheryl Regan, Exhibition Director
Jennifer Bride, Online Programs Coordinator

Network Development and MARC Standards Office

Elizabeth Miller, Senior Network Specialist
Julie Mangin, Network Systems Research Assistant

Geography and Map Division

Gene Roberts, System Administrator

Information Technology Services

Lynn Brooks, Senior Systems Analyst
Domenic Sergi, Computer Specialist
Michael Smallwood, Computer Specialist

Back to top