Lewis Hine (1874-1940)
Waiting for the 'Forwards' - Jewish paper at 1 A.M. New York, March 1913
The New Colossus

Emma Lazarus 1849-188 7) "The New Colossus" [titled "Sonnet" in notebook] 1883. Manuscript poem, bound in journal. Courtesy of the American Jewish Historical Society, New York. and Newton Centre, Massachusetts (41)

Staff for the Exhibition

Interpretive Programs Office:

  • Irene Chambers, Interpretive Programs Officer
  • Cheryl Regan, Exhibition Director
  • Tracey Avant, Exhibition Specialist
  • Debbie Durbeck, Production Officer
  • Christopher O'Connor, Lead Exhibition Production Specialist
  • Betsy Nahum-Miller, Online Exhibition Coordinator
  • Tambra Johnson, Chief Registrar
  • Rachel Waldron, Registrar
  • Susan Mordan, Education Specialist


Giulia Adelfio, Denise Agee, Kimberli Curry, Seth de Matties, David Hayward, Martha Hopkins, Carroll Johnson, Antonio La Greca, Pamela Steele

Library of Congress Curator:

  • Michael W. Grunberger, Hebraic Section, African and Middle Eastern Division

Special consultant to the Library of Congress on the exhibition:

  • Jonathan D. Sarna, Brandeis University

Media Research:

  • Sam Serafy

Exhibition Interns

  • Deborah Hamer, Brandeis University
  • Emma Levine, University of Michigan
  • Rebecca Grunberger, University of Maryland
  • Tamika Outlaw, Lincoln University

Library of Congress Staff Contributors:


Rikki Condon, Kaare Chaffee, Lage Carlson, Claire Dekle, Annlinn Grossman, Yasmeen Khan, Terry Boone, Dana Hemmenway, Lynn Kidder, Adrienne Lundgren, Jesse Munn, Heather Wanser, Melaina Zakian

Hebraic Section

Peggy K. Pearlstein, Sharon S. Horowitz, Rachel Becker, Fentahun Tiruneh

Manuscript Division

Marvin Kranz

Information Technology Services

Andrew Cook, Lisa Cope, Jade Curtis, Ronnie Hawkins, Glen Krankowski, Karl Rogers, Domenic Sergi

Network Development and MARC Standards Office

Julie Mangin, Elizabeth Miller


Levon Avdoyan, Beverly A. Gray, Betty Harris, Paul Zani, African and Middle Eastern Division; Mark Conner, Sue Siegel, Larry Stafford, Charles Stanhope, Development Office; Ronald Grim, John Hébert, Geography and Map Division; David Kelly, Humanities and Social Sciences Division; Meredith Shedd-Driscoll, Law Library; Jo Ann Jenkins, Librarian's Office; Deanna Marcum, Robert Dizard, Carolyn Brown, Library Services; Alice Birney, Janice Ruth, Daun van Ee, Mary Wolfskill, Manuscript Division; Pat Loughney, Sam Brylawski, Alan Gevinson, Mike Mashon, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division; Mark Horowitz, Ray White, Walter Zvonchenko, Music Division; Gail Petri, Leni Donlan, Elizabeth Ridgeway, Office of Strategic Initiatives; Lesia Bodnaruk and Mark Hauver, Preservation Reformatting Division; Katherine Blood, Beverly Brannan, Sara Duke, Verna Curtis, Carol Johnson, Martha Kennedy, Elena Millie, Prints and Photographs Division; Sheryl Cannady, Audrey Fischer, John Sayers Public Affairs Office;Stanley Bandong, Onetta Benoit, Printing Management Section; Mark Dimunation, Clark Evans, Rosemary Fry Plakas, Gerald Wager, Rare Book and Special Collections Division; Prosser Gifford, Scholarly Programs; Georgia Higley, Serial and Government Publications Division; Wanda Cartwright, Kim Moden, Elsa Keshishian-Roth, Bernadette Snead, Nishelle Wingfield Miles, Special Events Office

For their scholarly advice and assistance, special thanks are due to Grace Cohen Grossman (Skirball Cultural Center Museum) and to Eric Goldstein (Emory University), Pamela Nadell (American University), Lauren Strauss (Independent Scholar), and Jenna Weissman Joselit (Princeton University). In addition, the Library of Congress greatly appreciates the support and cooperation of its Commission partners: Gary P. Zola (Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives), Greg Bradsher (National Archives and Records Administration); and Michael Feldberg (American Jewish Historical Society).

Exhibition and brochure design

Dennis Konetzka Design Group, LLC, Washington, D.C. and Studio A, Alexandria, Virginia

The Library of Congress wishes to thank all of the lenders to this exhibition including: National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.; American Jewish Historical Society, New York; Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives, Cincinnati; Hebrew Union College, Skirball Cultural Center Museum, Los Angeles; Harry S. Truman Library, Independence, Missouri; Touro Synagogue Congregation Jeshuat Israel, Newport, Rhode Island; National Archives and Records Administration Northeast Region, New York; and Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim Synagogue, Charleston, South Carolina.

The Library of Congress exhibition From Haven to Home and related commemorative programs marking the 350th anniversary of Jewish life in America were made possible by a generous grant from Bernard and Audre Rapoport, through the Abby and Emily Rapoport Trust Fund in the Library of Congress.

Back to top