“I Do Solemnly Swear...” Inaugural Materials from the Collections of the Library of Congress

January 8, 2005-April 8, 2005

In this special presentation are more than forty items including photographs, manuscripts, campaignposters, letters, broadsides, and inaugural speeches. This uniqueselection of items offers a glimpse into the history of American presidential inaugurations. Eighteen presidents are featured in the display—George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Andrew Jackson, William Harrison, James K. Polk, Zachary Taylor, James Buchanan, Abraham Lincoln, Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield, Benjamin Harrison, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt and John F. Kennedy.

The physical exhibition will be on view at the Library through May 7, 2005 – Mon. - Sat., 10:00am to 5:00pm.

On Inauguration Day (Thursday, January 20) from 7-10am EDT, ABC-TV's "Good Morning America" will broadcast live in HDTV from the Thomas Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress.

An American Memory presentation on Presidential inaugurations is also available: memory.loc.gov/ammem/pihtml/