skip navigation  The Library of Congress >> Research Centers
AFC Logo
The American Folklife Center
Connect with us:   Blog Blog  |  Facebook Facebook  |  Podcasts Podcasts   RSS RSS  | Video Webcasts
 home >> collections & research services >> published recordings

The Smithsonian Folkways Mickey Hart Collection

From the Library of Congress, American Folklife Center, and Smithsonian Folkways
Produced by Mickey Hart and Alan Jabbour

"Our new technologies are part of a powerful civilization which is rapidly transforming the world around us. It changes the environment, often in ways that endanger the delicate ecologial balance nature has wrought over the millennia. It also brings radical change to other cultures... Sometimes that change is empowering. But all too often it endangers precious human ways of life, just as surely as it endangers the environment within which those ways of life flourish.... This series is dedicated to the hope that with education, empathy, and assistance, imperiled cultures can survive. Proceeds from the project will be used to support the performers and their cultures and to produce future releases."

-- Mickey Hart and Alan Jabbour, Director/American Folklife Center

The following titles were originally published by Rycodisc and are now published by Smithsonian Folkways and are available through various vendors.

  • The Arthur S. Alberts Collection: More Tribal, Folk, and Cafe Music of West Africa
    (HRT15016), released October 1998. Music of French Guinea, Liberia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, and Zaire.
  • The Yoruba/Dahomean Collection: Orishas Accross the Ocean
    (HRT15020), released October 1998. Yoruba and Dahomean-influenced music of Brazil, Haiti, Cuba, and Trinidad.
  • The Discoteca Collection: Missão de Pesquisas Folclóricas
    (HRT15018), released September 23, 1997. Music of Northeastern Brazil collected in 1938.
  • L. H. Corrêa de Azevedo: Music of Ceará and Minas Gerais
    (HRT15019 released September 23, 1997. Music of Central and Northern Brazil collected in the early 1940s.
  • Music for the Gods: The Fahnestock South Sea Expedition, Indonesia
    (HRT15013), released October 1994.
  • The Spirit Cries: Music of the Rainforests of South America & the Caribbean
    (HRT15012), first released by Rycodisc March 1993.


  Back to Top


 home >> collections & research services >> published recordings

  The Library of Congress >> Research Centers
   September 26, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian