Top of page

Notated Music [Motets of the 17th century in score]

About this Item


  • [Motets of the 17th century in score]

Created / Published

  • Milano, 1654, monographic.


  • -  Motets


  • -  Ms., 18th cent., said to be in the hand-writing of Thomas Pinto (1714-1783), whose autograph appears on p. 3, and containing 56, 2 to 4 part motets, etc., with and without continuo, by 24 composers.
  • -  Twenti-five compositions are drawn from Georgio Rolla's Teatro musicale de concerti ecclesiastici, Milano, 1654 (Eitner, Bibliograhie der musik-sammelwerke des XVI. und XVII. jahrhunderts, p. 947-48), 12 from G.B. Caifabri and Francesco Cavalotti's Scelta de'motetti, Parte prima, Roma, 1665 (Gaspari, Catalogo della biblioteca del Liceo musicale di Bologna, v. II, p. 352), and 18 from other sources.
  • -  The ms. is virtually complete transcript of the two anthologies mentioned above, only one composition from each having been omitted.
  • -  Composers represented are Orazio Benevoli, Ercole Bernabei, Antonio Bertali, G.G. Carissimi, Girolamo Casati (2), Francesco Colombano, Giuseppe Corsi (2), G.B. Crivelli (4), Geronimo Ferrari (3), Francesco Foggia (3), Bonifazio Graziani (2), G.F. Marcorelli (2), Biagio Marini (2), Tarquinio Merula (4), G.M. Pagliardi, G.A. Rigatti, Georgio Rolla (5), Giovanni Rovetta (3), G. F. Sances (2), Nicolo Stamegna (2), Bartolomeo Trabattone (4), G.B. Treviso (4), Francesto Turini, and Giovanni Vincenti.
  • -  Three compositions (p. 63, 104, and 119) are anonymous and unidentified.
  • -  From the Cummings collection.
  • -  LC copy imperfect: p. 1-2 wanting; p. 3-5 are unidentified fragments.
  • -  Latin text. (language)


  • musical score
  • print


  • 3-245 [i.e. 246] p. of ms. music ; 38 cm.

Library of Congress Control Number

  • 2009546907

LC Classification

  • M1490 .M88

Online Format

  • image
  • pdf

Additional Metadata Formats






Rights & Access

The Library of Congress is providing access to these materials for educational and research purposes and makes no warranty with regard to their use for other purposes. The written permission of the copyright owners and/or other rights holders (such as holders of publicity and/or privacy rights) is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may be content that is protected as "works for hire" (copyright may be held by the party that commissioned the original work) and/or under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.

Responsibility for making an independent legal assessment of an item and securing any necessary permission ultimately rests with persons desiring to use the item. Users should consult the bibliographic information that accompanies each item for specific information. This catalog data provides the details known to the Library of Congress regarding the corresponding items and may assist users in making independent assessments of the legal status of these items as related to their desired uses.

Items included here with the permission of the rights holders are indicated as such in the bibliographic record for each item.

In some cases, the Library was unable to identify a possible rights holder and has elected to place some of those items online as an exercise of fair use for strictly non-commercial educational uses. The Library of Congress would like to learn more about these materials and would like to hear from individuals or institutions that have any additional information or know of their history. Please contact:  Performing Arts Reading Room.

Suggested credit line: Library of Congress, Music Division.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Motets of the 17th Century in Score. Milano, Monographic, 1654. Notated Music.

APA citation style:

(1654) Motets of the 17th Century in Score. Milano, Monographic. [Notated Music] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Motets of the 17th Century in Score. Milano, Monographic, 1654. Notated Music. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.