Top of page

Notated Music Frühlingssymphonie, [No. 1, in B flat, Op. 38]

About this Item


  • Frühlingssymphonie, [No. 1, in B flat, Op. 38]


  • Schumann, Robert, 1810-1856

Created / Published

  • 1841 Jan. 23-26.


  • -  Symphonies--Scores


  • -  Holograph.
  • -  In ink and pencil sketches, and the full score (Jan. 2-Feb. 20 1841) in the composer's handwriting; the original pencil sketches precede the full score.
  • -  Composer has pasted corrections on p. 28, 41, and 45.
  • -  [216] pages of music, of which 16 pages (159-174) containing the beginning of the finale, are not in Schumann's hand; laid in, [4] p. of music, containing the first autograph version of the greater part of the Trio II which was later added to the Scherzo.
  • -  Composed in 1841 and first performed at the Leipzig Gewandhause on March 31st of the year under the baton of Felix Mendelssohn.
  • -  On front and back of front fly-leaf dates of ca. 50 performances with the names of conductors.
  • -  On second fly-leaf dedication from Clara Schumann to Hermann Levi.
  • -  The fourth movement is partly in a copyist's hand, Carl Brückner, Leipzig.
  • -  For full description of this ms. and its history see Georg Kinsky's Catalogue of the Heyer collection, ML138.H39 vol. IV, p. 342-348.
  • -  Purchase; Henrici & Liepmannssohn 1926 Dec.
  • -  Henrici & Liepmannssohn auction of the Nachlass of Wilhelm Heyer. Heyer was custodian of the ms. since 1906; prior to that the score was in custody of Hermann Levi--a gift from Clara Schuman.


  • 1 ms. score ([212], [4] p.) ; 29-33 cm.

Call Number/Physical Location

  • ML96 .S415

Library of Congress Control Number

  • 2010560189

Online Format

  • image

Additional Metadata Formats

IIIF Presentation Manifest

Rights & Access

The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site.  The items on this site are made freely available for scholarly use. Other uses may require permission or credit to the holding repository. Please contact the holding repository for more information.

Rights information for Library of Congress Holdings in the Music Treasures Consortium:

The Library of Congress is providing access to these materials for educational and research purposes and makes no warranty with regard to their use for other purposes. The written permission of the copyright owners and/or other rights holders (such as holders of publicity and/or privacy rights) is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may be content that is protected as "works for hire" (copyright may be held by the party that commissioned the original work) and/or under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.

Responsibility for making an independent legal assessment of an item and securing any necessary permission ultimately rests with persons desiring to use the item. Users should consult the bibliographic information that accompanies each item for specific information. This catalog data provides the details known to the Library of Congress regarding the corresponding items and may assist users in making independent assessments of the legal status of these items as related to their desired uses.

Items included here with the permission of the rights holders are indicated as such in the bibliographic record for each item.

In some cases, the Library was unable to identify a possible rights holder and has elected to place some of those items online as an exercise of fair use for strictly non-commercial educational uses. The Library of Congress would like to learn more about these materials and would like to hear from individuals or institutions that have any additional information or know of their history. Please contact:  Performing Arts Reading Room.

Suggested credit line: Library of Congress, Music Division.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Schumann, Robert. Frühlingssymphonie, No. 1, in B flat, Op. 38. -26, 1841. Notated Music.

APA citation style:

Schumann, R. (1841) Frühlingssymphonie, No. 1, in B flat, Op. 38. -26. [Notated Music] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Schumann, Robert. Frühlingssymphonie, No. 1, in B flat, Op. 38. -26, 1841. Notated Music. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.