Top of page

Notated Music Sehr Langsam, misterioso

About this Item


  • Sehr Langsam, misterioso


  • Mahler, Gustav, 1860-1911
  • Nietzsche, Friedrich Wilhelm, 1844-1900

Created / Published

  • 1896.


  • -  Symphonies--Excerpts--Vocal scores with piano
  • -  Songs (Low voice) with orchestra--Vocal scores with piano
  • -  Nietzsche, Friedrich Wilhelm,--1844-1900--Musical settings


  • -  Holograph, in ink, with emendations and corrections in pencil.
  • -  The 4th movement of Symphony no. 3 ; for contralto solo with piano reduction ; includes indications for orchestration.
  • -  Words from Also sprach Zarathustra by Friedrich Nietzsche.
  • -  Duration: 11 min., 30 sec.
  • -  Gift of Gisella Selden-Goth, 1965 ; formerly owned by Natalie Bauer-Lechner.
  • -  At end: Gustav Mahler, Steinbach, Sommer 96.


  • 1 ms. vocal score ([4] p.) ; 35 cm.

Call Number/Physical Location

  • ML31 .S4a No. 12
  • ML31 .S4e No. 12 Photocopy

Digital Id

Library of Congress Control Number

  • 2016560852

Online Format

  • image
  • pdf

Additional Metadata Formats

IIIF Presentation Manifest

Rights & Access

The Library of Congress believes that the majority of the works in the Gisella Selden-Goth collection are in the public domain or have no known copyright restrictions and are free to use and reuse. For example, the majority of the works date to the 19th century or earlier. The Library has also obtained permission for the use of some materials, and presents additional materials pursuant to fair use under United States copyright law. Researchers should watch for documents that may be copyrighted (for example, published in the United States less than 95 years ago, or unpublished and the author died less than 70 years ago) including those subject to international rights laws.

You are responsible for deciding whether your use of the items in this collection is legal. You will need written permission from the rightsholders to copy, distribute, or otherwise use copyrighted materials except as allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions.

Items included here with the permission of the rights holders are indicated as such in the bibliographic record for each item.

Suggested credit line: Library of Congress, Music Division.

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Mahler, Gustav, and Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche. Sehr Langsam, misterioso. 1896. Notated Music.

APA citation style:

Mahler, G. & Nietzsche, F. W. (1896) Sehr Langsam, misterioso. [Notated Music] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Mahler, Gustav, and Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche. Sehr Langsam, misterioso. 1896. Notated Music. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.