Top of page

Notated Music Symphonies de Beethoven

About this Item


  • Symphonies de Beethoven


  • Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827, composer
  • Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886, arranger of music
  • Bülow, Hans von, 1830-1894, dedicatee
  • Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827

Created / Published

  • Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, [1865]


  • v. 1. No. 1, Ut maj (C Dur). ; No. 2, Re maj. (D Dur) ; No. 3, Mi bémol maj. (Es Dur) Eroica ; No. 4, Si bémol maj. (B Dur) ; No. 5, Ut min. (c Moll) -- v. 2. No. 6, Fa maj. (F Dur) Pastorale ; No. 7, La maj. (A Dur) ; No. 8, Fa maj. (F Dur) ; No. 9, Re min. (d Moll).


  • -  Symphonies (Piano), Arranged


  • Symphonies
  • Arrangements (Music)
  • Scores


  • -  The nine symphonies of Beethoven, originally for orchestra; arranged for piano solo.
  • -  Liszt's preface in French and German dated 1865.
  • -  "Dediée au Baron H. de Bülow."
  • -  Stamp on t.p.: Arthur Smolian, Kapellmeister; Wiesbaden.
  • -  First edition; see Grove.
  • -  Staff notation.
  • -  The music manuscripts, first editions, and correspondence of Franz Liszt (1811-1886) in the collections of the Music Division, Library of Congress, page 63, no. 144a


  • 1 score (2 volumes (214, 211 pages)) ; 32 cm

Call Number/Physical Location

  • M3.3.L77 S92
  • 86/20,226 (Mus) Item 144a Microfilm

Digital Id

Library of Congress Control Number

  • 2018560340

Online Format

  • image

Additional Metadata Formats

IIIF Presentation Manifest

Rights & Access

The Library of Congress is providing access to these materials for educational and research purposes and makes no warranty with regard to their use for other purposes. The written permission of the copyright owners and/or other rights holders (such as holders of publicity and/or privacy rights) is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may be content that is protected as "works for hire" (copyright may be held by the party that commissioned the original work) and/or under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.

Responsibility for making an independent legal assessment of an item and securing any necessary permission ultimately rests with persons desiring to use the item. Users should consult the bibliographic information that accompanies each item for specific information. This catalog data provides the details known to the Library of Congress regarding the corresponding items and may assist users in making independent assessments of the legal status of these items as related to their desired uses.

Items included here with the permission of the rights holders are indicated as such in the bibliographic record for each item.

In some cases, the Library was unable to identify a possible rights holder and has elected to place some of those items online as an exercise of fair use for strictly non-commercial educational uses. The Library of Congress would like to learn more about these materials and would like to hear from individuals or institutions that have any additional information or know of their history. Please contact:  Performing Arts Reading Room.

Suggested credit line: Library of Congress, Music Division.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Liszt, Franz, Arranger Of Music, Hans Von Bülow, and Ludwig Van Beethoven. Symphonies de Beethoven. composeds by Beethoven, Ludwig Van [Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1865] Notated Music.

APA citation style:

Liszt, F., Bülow, H. V. & Beethoven, L. V. (1865) Symphonies de Beethoven. Beethoven, L. V., comp [Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel] [Notated Music] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Liszt, Franz, Arranger Of Music, Hans Von Bülow, and Ludwig Van Beethoven. Symphonies de Beethoven. comp by Beethoven, Ludwig Van [Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1865] Notated Music. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.