Top of page

Book/Printed Material Selections from "Suite Iberia".

About this Item


  • Selections from "Suite Iberia".


  • Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) was the first composer to value and promote Spanish music as universal music beyond the national sphere. Iberia, a set of 12 compositions for piano published in four books, is Albéniz's most representative work. Its earlier title was Espagne, and it sometimes is called Suite Iberia, based on the fact that the orchestration of these pieces was gathered in four suites. The series for piano was composed in Paris and Nice, where the Albéniz family lived between December 1905 and January 1908. The work was first performed in May 1906-January 1909 by pianists Blanca Selva and Joaquim Malats, who completed the cycle only three months before the death of the composer. The books were published in Paris by Édition Mutuelle, managed by the Castéra brothers. Albéniz revised the second print run of the first edition, which also included changes in the engravings made by his daughter Laura and established the definitive order of the 12 compositions. The manuscript presented here contains the first works of the third book (L'Albaicin) and of the first book (Prélude, later called Évocation), and the three works that correspond to the fourth book (Málaga, Jerez, and Eritaña) and Navarra, bound according to the order of composition. This last composition was to have been part of the fourth book, but it was finally rejected. The manuscript adds the second work of the first book (El Puerto) in orchestral version, and La Vega, from the suite La Alhambra. The personal collection of works by this composer and pianist was donated to the Biblioteca de Catalunya by his widow, Rosina Jordana, in 1927.


  • Albéniz, Isaac, 1860-1909 Composer.

Created / Published

  • [place of publication not identified] : [publisher not identified], [1905 to 1908]


  • -  Spain
  • -  1905 to 1908
  • -  Impressionism (Music)
  • -  Musical notation
  • -  Musical scores
  • -  Piano


  • -  Title devised, in English, by Library staff.
  • -  Original resource extent: 99 folios ; 36 centimeters.
  • -  Original resource at: National Library of Catalonia.
  • -  Content in French and Spanish.
  • -  Description based on data extracted from World Digital Library, which may be extracted from partner institutions.


  • 1 online resource.

Digital Id

Library of Congress Control Number

  • 2021668016

Online Format

  • compressed data
  • pdf
  • image

Additional Metadata Formats

IIIF Presentation Manifest

Rights & Access

The Library of Congress is unaware of any copyright or other restrictions in the World Digital Library Collection. Absent any such restrictions, these materials are free to use and reuse. Researchers are encouraged to review the source information attached to each item. For information on contacting WDL partner organizations, see this archived list of partners

The Library asks that researchers approach the materials in this collection with respect for the culture and sensibilities of the people whose lives, ideas, and creativity are documented here.

Credit Line: [Original Source citation], World Digital Library

More about Copyright and other Restrictions

For additional information and contact information for many of the partner organizations, see this archived capture of the World Digital Library site from 2021.

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Albéniz, Isaac, Composer. Selections from "Suite Iberia". [Place of Publication Not Identified: Publisher Not Identified, to 1908, 1905] Pdf.

APA citation style:

Albéniz, I. (1905) Selections from "Suite Iberia". [Place of Publication Not Identified: Publisher Not Identified, to 1908] [Pdf] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Albéniz, Isaac, Composer. Selections from "Suite Iberia". [Place of Publication Not Identified: Publisher Not Identified, to 1908, 1905] Pdf. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.