Event Concerts and Performances Melnikov-Faust-Queyras Trio

Date and Location

  • When: Friday, February 16, 2024

    8:00 pm - 10:00 pm EST

  • Where: Thomas Jefferson Building - Coolidge Auditorium (LJG45A)

    10 1st Street SE, Washington, DC 20540

Part of Concerts from the Library of Congress

Request ADA accommodations five business days in advance at (202) 707-6362 or ADA@loc.gov.

Alexander Melnikov, piano
Isabelle Faust, violin
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

A group of renowned musicians—pianist Alexander Melnikov, violinist Isabelle Faust and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras—come together for a performance of Romantic and modern piano trios. Robert Schumann's second piano trio opens the program, a gem that was part of his return to chamber music in 1847. Epigrams was Elliott Carter’s final completed work, and consists of twelve brief movements; his final dispensation of wisdom to the receptive listener. In an uncharacteristic move, Brahms edited his early first piano trio late in life, slimming it down and giving it renewed vitality.

There will be no pre-concert talk for this event.


Piano Trio no. 2 in F major, op. 80


Piano Trio no. 1 in B major, op. 8 (revised 1889) 

Event Resources