Top of page

Audio Recording Gems from Martha Martha. Selections / Chorus of servants ; Swains so shy ; Last rose of summer ; Goodnight quartet ; May dreams transport thee ; Ah, may heaven forgive thee

Gems from Martha

Add to My Playlist
View My Playlist

About this Item


  • Gems from Martha

Other Title

  • Martha. Selections
  • Chorus of servants ; Swains so shy ; Last rose of summer ; Goodnight quartet ; May dreams transport thee ; Ah, may heaven forgive thee


  • Vocal chorus and soloists, with orchestra


  • Kline, Olive -- Vocalist -- Soprano Vocal
  • Bourdon, Rosario -- Conductor
  • Rice, Gladys -- Vocalist -- Soprano Vocal
  • Baker, Elsie -- Vocalist -- Contralto
  • Harrison, Charles -- Vocalist -- Tenor Vocal
  • Murphy, Lambert -- Vocalist -- Tenor Vocal
  • Cairns, Clifford -- Vocalist -- Baritone Vocal
  • Dadmun, Royal -- Vocalist -- Baritone Vocal
  • Levy, Ted -- Instrumentalist -- Piano
  • Flotow, Friedrich von -- Composer
  • Victor Light Opera Company -- Vocal Group
  • Wheeler, Elizabeth -- Vocalist -- Soprano Vocal
  • Marsh, Lucy Isabelle -- Vocalist -- Soprano Vocal
  • Macdonough, Harry -- Vocalist -- Tenor Vocal
  • Dunlap, Marguerite -- Vocalist -- Contralto
  • Werrenrath, Reinald -- Vocalist -- Baritone Vocal
  • Wheeler, William -- Vocalist -- Tenor Vocal
  • Bieling, John H. -- Vocalist -- Tenor Vocal
  • Hooley, William F. -- Vocalist -- Bass Vocal


  • Opera

Media Size

  • 12-inch

Recording Label

  • Victor

Recording Catalog Number

  • 31797

Recording Matrix Number

  • C-8908 (Matrix ID)

Recording Take Number

  • 00

Recording Date

  • 1923-03-14

Recording Location

  • Camden, New Jersey

Recording Repository

  • Source of original recording: Recorded Sound Section, Library of Congress.

Rights Advisory

  • Inclusion of the recording in the National Jukebox, courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment

Online Format

  • audio
  • image

IIIF Presentation Manifest

Rights & Access

The Library makes the sound recordings in the National Jukebox available pursuant to permission from the rightsholders. Under the Music Modernization Act, many of these recordings will begin entering into the public domain on January 1, 2022, when all recordings published prior to 1923 will enter the public domain and will be free to use and reuse. Recordings published between 1923 and 1946 are then protected for 100 years, and recordings published between 1947 and 1956 are protected for 110 years.  In addition, some of the items in the Jukebox, such as the Victrola Book of the Opera, are currently in the public domain and free to use and reuse. Disc labels that are more than 95 years old are now in the public domain and are free to use and reuse. The Library presents more recent disc labels with permission or under fair use.

You are responsible for deciding whether your use of the items in this collection is legal. You will need written permission from the rightsholders to copy, distribute, or otherwise use copyrighted materials except as allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. Some materials may be protected under international law.  You may also need permission from holders of other rights, such as publicity and/or privacy rights. 

Credit Line: Library of Congress, National Jukebox.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions.

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Kline, Olive, Rosario Bourdon, Gladys Rice, Elsie Baker, Charles Harrison, Lambert Murphy, Clifford Cairns, et al. Gems from Martha. 1923. Audio.

APA citation style:

Kline, O., Bourdon, R., Rice, G., Baker, E., Harrison, C., Murphy, L. [...] Hooley, W. F. (1923) Gems from Martha. [Audio] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Kline, Olive, et al. Gems from Martha. 1923. Audio. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.