Top of page

Biography Anne Sexton

Anne Sexton

Anne Sexton was born in Newton, Massachusetts in 1928. She is the author of 12 poetry collections, including To Bedlam and Part Way Back (1960); Live or Die (1966), which won her the Pulitzer Prize; and Love Poems (1969). Sexton also delved into writing prose, essays, plays, and children’s literature. Her honors include the Levinson Prize, the Shelley Memorial Prize, as well as fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Guggenheim and Ford Foundations. She was a lecturer and professor in Creative Writing at Boston University and also a Crawshaw Professor of Literature at Colgate University in 1972. Sexton died in 1974.

Audio Recordings with Anne Sexton

Selected Works at the Library of Congress