Top of page

Biography Jim Harrison

James (Jim) Harrison was born in Grayling, Michigan, in 1937. He wrote more than a dozen poetry collections, including In Search of Small Gods (2009), Songs of Unreason (2011), and Dead Man’s Float (2016). He also published more than 20 novels, including Legends of the Fall (1979) and Dalva (1988). Harrison was a recipient of the Guggenheim Fellowship and the Spirit of the West Award from the Mountain and Plains Bookseller Association. He taught briefly at SUNY Stony Brook University and died in 2016.

Audio Recordings with Jim Harrison

Selected Works at the Library of Congress