Top of page

Biography Robert Frost

U.S. Consultant in Poetry, 1958-1959

Robert Frost, U.S. Consultant in Poetry, 1958-1959. Library of Congress. World-Telegram photo by F. Palumbo.

Robert Frost was born in San Francisco, California, in 1874. Frost published more than 30 collections of poetry, including New Hampshire (1924), Collected Poems (1931), A Further Range (1937), and A Witness Tree (1943), all winners of the Pulitzer Prize. His other honors included the Congressional Gold Medal and the Bollingen Prize. Frost served as the Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress from 1958-1959, and was invited to read at the inauguration of President John F. Kennedy in 1961. He taught at Amherst College, the University of Michigan, Middlebury College, Harvard University, Columbia University, and Yale University, among other places. Frost was the co-founder of the Bread Loaf School and Conference of English at Middlebury College. Robert Frost died in 1963.

Audio Recordings of Robert Frost

Selected Works at the Library of Congress