Top of page

Biography Lorna Dee Cervantes

Lorna Dee Cervantes

Lorna Dee Cervantes was born in San Francisco, California, in 1954. She is the author of five poetry collections, including Emplumada (1981), Ciento: 100 100-Word Love Poems (2011), and, most recently, Sueño (2013). In addition, her work has been included in many anthologies, including Unsettling America: An Anthology of Contemporary Multicultural Poetry (1994), No More Masks! An Anthology of Twentieth-Century Women Poets (1993), and After Aztlan: Latino Poets of the Nineties (1992). Cervantes’s honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the California Arts Council, as well as the American Book Award, a Latino Literature Award, two Pushcart Prizes, and the National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies Scholar Award. In 1976, she founded and currently serves as editor-in-chief of Mango, a literary review that publishes writing by the Chicano/a community. She is also the co-editor of Red Dirt, a cross-cultural poetry journal. Cervantes has taught English and ethnic studies at the University of Colorado at Boulder, the University of Houston, San Francisco State University, and the University of California, Berkeley. She lives in San Francisco.

Audio Recordings of Lorna Dee Cervantes

  • An Evening of Chicano poetry, Lorna Dee Cervantes, Sandra Cisneros, Alberto Ríos, and Luis Omar Salinas, four American poets of Mexican descent, read from their works.

Selected Works at the Library of Congress