Top of page

Biography Alberto Rios

Alberto Rios (credit: Caleb Alvarado)

Alberto Ríos was born in Nogales, Arizona in 1952. He is the author of 11 collections of poetry, including Whispering to Fool the Wind (1982), which won the Walt Whitman Award; The Smallest Muscle in the Human Body (2002); and, most recently, A Small Story About the Sky (2015). He has also written three collections of short stories and one memoir. Ríos’s work has been included in over 300 journals and over 250 anthologies, and he was featured in the documentary Birthwrite: Growing up Hispanic. His awards include fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as the Walt Whitman Award, six Pushcart Prizes, the PEN Open Book Award, and the Latino Literary Hall of Fame Award. In 2014, he was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. Currently the first state poet laureate of Arizona, Ríos is also the Regents Professor of English and the Katharine C. Turner Endowed Chair in English at Arizona State University in Tempe.

Audio Recordings of Alberto Ríos

  • An Evening of Chicano poetry, Lorna Dee Cervantes, Sandra Cisneros, Alberto Ríos, and Luis Omar Salinas, four American poets of Mexican descent, read from their works.

Selected Works at the Library of Congress