Top of page

Biographies Robert Hass

U.S. Poet Laureate, 1995-1997

Robert Hass, U.S. Poet Laureate, 1995-1997. Photo credit: Margaretta K. Mitchell.

Robert Hass was born in San Francisco, California in 1941. He is the author of nine poetry collections, including Field Guide (1973), winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets Prize; Praise (1979), winner of the William Carlos Williams Award; Sun Under Wood (1996), winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award; and Time and Materials: Poems 1997-2005 (2007), winner of the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize. Hass has also written several collections of translations and criticism, including Twentieth Century Pleasures: Prose on Poetry (1984), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award. His honors also include a Wallace Stevens Award from the Academy of American Poets, a fellowship from the MacArthur Foundation, and a 1997 Outstanding Service to Environmental Education Award from the North American Society for Environmental Education. Hass served as the Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry from 1995 to 1997, and as a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 2001 to 2007. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2002. Robert Hass is the Distinguished Professor in Poetry and Poetics at the University of California Berkeley.

Audio Recordings with Robert Hass

Selected Works at the Library of Congress

Videos from the Library of Congress