Top of page

Biography Carl Phillips

Carl Phillips (credit: Dinty W. Moore)

Carl Phillips was born in Everett, Washington in 1959. He is the author of 13 poetry collections, including Pastoral (2000), which won the Lambda Literary Award for Poetry; Double Shadow (2011), winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poetry; and, most recently, Reconnaissance (2015). He is the recipient of fellowships from the Academy of American Poets and the Guggenheim Foundation, and has received the Theodore Roethke Memorial Foundation Poetry Prize, the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, an Award in Literature from American Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Academy of American Poets Prize. In 1998 he received a Witter Bynner Fellowship. A Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 2006-2012, Phillips is a professor of English at Washington University in St. Louis.

Audio Recordings of Carl Phillips

Selected Works at the Library of Congress