May 23, 2000 Washington and Alaska Win 2000 Boorstin Center for the Book Awards

Press Contact: Donna Urschel (202) 707-9191
Public Contact: Center for the Book (202) 707-5221

The Washington Center for the Book and the Alaska Center for the Book won the 2000 Boorstin Center for the Book Awards, which were presented May 1 by the Library of Congress Center for the Book Director John Y. Cole at the annual state center "idea exchange day" hosted by the Library. Each of the annual awards includes a cash prize of $5,000.

The National Award, won by the Washington Center for the Book at the Seattle Public Library, recognizes the contribution that an affiliated state center has made to the Center for the Book's overall program. When presenting the award, Mr. Cole cited the Washington center's inspiration to other centers through its "If All Seattle Read the Same Book" project and the high quality and extensive outreach of its literacy programming. Washington center Executive Director Nancy Pearl accepted the award.

The State Award, won by Alaska, recognizes a specific project or initiative. In presenting the award to Alaska, state center President Barbara Brown, Mr. Cole cited the success of Alaska's annual Writing Rendezvous and other cooperative projects, "all accomplished with an all-volunteer staff."

The Boorstin Awards are supported by a gift from Librarian of Congress Emeritus Daniel J. Boorstin and his wife, Ruth. Dr. Boorstin established the national Center for the Book in 1977 to stimulate public interest in books, reading, and libraries. Most of the Center for the Book's activities are funded by tax-deductible contributions from individuals, corporations, and foundations.

For information about the center and its network of 40 affiliated state centers, contact the Center for the Book, Library of Congress, Washington, DC 20540-4920, telephone, (202) 707-5221; fax, (202) 707-0269; or consult its Web site at


PR 00-084
ISSN 0731-3527