July 1, 2003 Center for the Book and the Viburnum Foundation Announce 2003-2004 Family Literacy Grantees

Press Contact: Sheryl Cannady (202) 707-6456
Public Contact: (202) 707-5221

The Library of Congress's Center for the Book announced that 47 small public libraries in 10 states would receive $3,000 family literacy grants from the Viburnum Foundation, as part of the 2003-2004 Viburnum Foundation/Center for the Book Family Literacy Project.

"This is the center's most widespread and effective grass-roots literacy project," said John Y. Cole, the center's director. "Since 1998, when the center became the project's co-sponsor, Viburnum Foundation grants have gone to 222 small public libraries in Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Texas."

The project supports the planning and promotion of family literacy programs among rural public libraries and their community partners. The Center for the Book administers the project and organizes and conducts two training workshops each year for new participants. This year the workshops will be held in Little Rock, Ark., on Aug. 14-16, and in Austin, Texas, on Sept. 11-13. Center for the Book consultant Virginia H. Mathews, a nationally known family literacy expert and library advocate, is project coordinator. She is assisted by two Center for the Book staff members, project specialist Anne Boni and Patricia White, executive assistant.

Libraries receiving the grants for 2003-2004 are listed below (unless otherwise indicated, the name of the library and its location are the same).


Ashland City Public Library; B.B. Comer Memorial Library, Sylacauga; Lucile L. Morgan Library, Heflin; Ozark-Dale County Public Library, Ozark.


Chandler Public Library; Copper Queen Library, Bisbee; Hayden Public Library; Velma Teague Branch Library, Glendale.


Bella Vista Public Library; Crawford County Library System, Van Buren; Faulkner Public Library, Conway; Folsom Memorial Library, Brinkley; Fort Smith Public Library; Jim G. Ferguson Searcy County Public Library, Marshall; Phillips County Library, Helena.


Bartow County Library, Cartersville; Brooks County Public Library, Quitman; Lee County Library, Leesburg; Screvin County Library, Sylvania; Valdosta Lowndes County Library.


Sabine Parish Library, Many; Vermilion Parish Library, Abbeville.


Columbus-Lowndes Public Library, Columbus; Elizabeth Jones Library, Grenada; First Regional Library, Hernando; Morton Public Library, Brandon.

New Mexico

Belen Public Library; Farmington Public Library; Glenwood Community Library; Moise Public Library, Santa Rosa; Moriarty Community Library; The Public Library of Silver City.


Anadarko Community Library; Bartlett-Carnegie Sapulpa Public Library, Sapulpa; Public Library of Enid and Garfield Counties, Enid; Tecumseh Public Library.

South Carolina

Colleton County Memorial Library, Walterboro; Dillion County Library; Spartanburg Public Library; Sumter County Library; York County Library, Rock Hill.


Duval County/San Diego Public Library, San Diego; Eden Public Library; George Memorial Library-Fort Bend County Libraries, Richmond; Howard County Library, Big Spring; Longview Public Library; Val Verde County Library, Del Rio.

The Center for the Book was established in 1977 to use the resources and prestige of the Library of Congress to stimulate public interest in books, reading, literacy and libraries. For information about its programs, publications, forthcoming events and the activities of the center's affiliates in 50 states and the District of Columbia, visit its Web site at www.loc.gov/cfbook.


PR 03-123
ISSN 0731-3527