April 26, 2005 The Jury and American Democracy Is Subject of Law Day Panel Discussion on May 2

Part of Leon Jaworksi Public Program Series

Press Contact: Audrey Fischer (202) 707-0022
Public Contact: Janice Hyde (202) 707-9836
Contact: ABA contact: Howard Kaplan (312) 988-5738

The Law Library of Congress and the American Bar Association (ABA) Division on Public Education will commemorate Law Day 2005 with a panel discussion on “The Jury and American Democracy,” from 5 to 7 p.m. on Monday, May 2, in the East and West Conference Rooms of the U.S. Supreme Court, 1 First Street N.E., Washington, D.C. The program is free and open to the public, but advance registration is required at www.abanet.org/publiced/jaworski.html. (Note: the event may be fully subscribed but members of the working press are invited to attend).

Sandra Day O’Connor, associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, is slated to make opening and closing remarks. Jeffrey Toobin, CNN senior legal analyst and staff writer for The New Yorker, will moderate the program. He will be joined by panelists Jeffrey Abramson, Louis Stulberg Professor of Law and Politics, Brandeis University; Miriam Goldman Cedarbaum, U.S. district judge, Southern District of New York; and Kenneth C. Frazier, senior vice president and general counsel, Merck & Co. Inc.

“The Jury and American Democracy” is part of the continuing Leon Jaworski Public Program Series. This year’s program is also being held in partnership with the ABA Standing Committee on Public Education, the ABA Commission on the American Jury, the Federation of State Humanities Council; the League of Women Voters of the United States, the ABA Standing Committee on the Law Library of Congress and the friends of the Law Library of Congress.

This program is part of the Law Library’s annual celebration of Law Day and one of the ABA’s principal national events for the commemoration of Law Day 2005. The ABA instituted Law Day on May 1 in the late 1950s to draw attention to both the principles and practice of law and justice. President Dwight D. Eisenhower established Law Day by proclamation in 1958.


PR 05-104
ISSN 0731-3527