November 28, 2006 Kluge Prize for Lifetime Achievement in the Study of Humanity To Be Awarded on Dec. 5

John Hope Franklin and Yu Ying-shih Share $1 Million Award

Press Contact: Matt Raymond (202) 707-0020; Danny Maiello (202) 271-4347
Contact: Visit the Kluge Center Web site. | Remarks of John Hope Franklin | Remarks of Yu Ying-shih

WHAT: Librarian of Congress James H. Billington will present the 2006 John W. Kluge Prize for the Study of Humanity to historians John Hope Franklin and Yu Ying-shih, who will each receive half of the $1 million prize.

WHEN: Tuesday, Dec. 5, at 6:45 p.m.

WHERE: The Coolidge Auditorium, Thomas Jefferson Building, 10 First St. S.E.,

Washington, D.C.


  • Introduction and Welcome by Dr. Billington
  • Acceptance Speech by John Hope Franklin
  • Acceptance Speech by Yu Ying-shih
  • Performance by the Curtis Institute of Music Quartet
  • Closing Remarks by Dr. Billington

The doors to the Coolidge Auditorium will open at 6:15 p.m. Members of the press should call Matt Raymond or Danny Maiello in advance in order to secure reserved seating for the ceremony.

An online repository is available to the media to download in-depth background materials, high-resolution images, video, audio and other resources, as well as to request interviews with prize recipients. This information can be accessed at:


PR 06-219
ISSN 0731-3527