February 4, 2014 Library of Congress Now Accepting Applications for 2014 Literacy Awards

Deadline Is March 31

Press Contact: Guy Lamolinara (202) 707-9217
Public Contact: Center for the Book (202) 707-5221

Applications are now being accepted for the 2014 Library of Congress Literacy Awards, which are made possible through the generosity of David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and co-CEO of The Carlyle Group.

These awards were first conferred in 2013 to support organizations working to alleviate the problems of illiteracy both in the United States and worldwide. The awards seek to reward organizations doing exemplary, innovative and easily replicable work over a sustained period of time and to encourage new groups, organizations and individuals to become involved.

“The Library of Congress Literacy Awards program made a big impact on the field of literacy with its initial awards, conferred last year on Reach Out and Read, 826 National and PlanetRead,” said Librarian of Congress James H. Billington. “The Library is grateful to David Rubenstein for his continued support of this important initiative.”

“Literacy is the basis for success in life, and I am pleased to be able to continue my support of organizations dedicated to inspiring people to learn to read and to urging those who can read to read more,” said David M. Rubenstein.

The Library of Congress Literacy Awards are administered by the Library’s Center for the Book. Final selection of prize-winners will be made by the Librarian of Congress with recommendations from literacy experts on an advisory board.

Three prizes will be awarded in 2014:

  • The Rubenstein Prize ($150,000) will be awarded to an organization that has made outstanding and measurable contributions in increasing literacy levels and has demonstrated exceptional and sustained depth and breadth in its commitment to the advancement of literacy. The organization will meet the highest standards of excellence in its operations and services. This award may be given to any organization based either inside or outside the United States. Reach Out and Read was the 2013 winner.
  • The American Prize ($50,000) will be awarded to an organization that has made a significant and measurable contribution to increasing literacy levels or the national awareness of the importance of literacy. This award may be given to any organization that is based in the United States. The 2013 winner was 826 National.
  • The International Prize ($50,000) will be awarded to an organization or national entity that has made a significant and measurable contribution to increasing literacy levels. This award may be given to any organization that is based in a country outside the United States. Planet Read, based in India, was the 2013 winner.

The application rules and a downloadable application form may be accessed at Read.gov/literacyawards. Applications must be received no later than midnight on March 31, 2014.

Founded in 1800, the Library of Congress is the nation’s oldest federal cultural institution and the largest library in the world. The Library seeks to spark imagination and creativity and to further human understanding and wisdom by providing access to knowledge through its magnificent collections, programs, publications and exhibitions. Many of the Library’s rich resources can be accessed through its website at www.loc.gov.

The Library of Congress Center for the Book, established by Congress in 1977 to "stimulate public interest in books and reading," is a national force for reading and literacy promotion. A public-private partnership, it sponsors educational programs that reach readers of all ages through its affiliated state centers, collaborations with nonprofit reading-promotion partners and through the Young Readers Center and the Poetry and Literature Center at the Library of Congress. For more information, visit Read.gov.


PR 14-024
ISSN 0731-3527