August 14, 2014 (REVISED August 19, 2014) FEDLINK Opens Nominations for Federal Librarianship Awards

National Awards Program for Achievements Made in Fiscal Year 2014

Contact: Robin Harvey, FEDLINK (202) 707-4820 | John Sayers, Office of Communications (202) 707-9216

To honor the innovative ways in which federal libraries, librarians and library technicians fulfill the information demands of government, business, research, scholarly communities and the American public, the Federal Library and Information Network (FEDLINK) has opened nominations for its national awards for federal librarianship for fiscal year 2014.

The award winners will be honored for their contributions to federal library and information service at the FEDLINK Spring Expo in Washington, D.C., in May 2015. For nomination materials, visit the Awards Working Group section of the FEDLINK website or send an e-mail to The nomination packet includes the nomination form, selection criteria and a list of needed supporting materials. All completed nominations must be emailed to no later than 11:59 p.m. on Jan. 16, 2015.

Nominations are being accepted for these awards:

Federal Library/Information Center of the Year

This award commends the library or information center for outstanding, innovative and sustained achievements during fiscal year 2014 in fulfilling its organization's mission, fostering innovation in its services and meeting the needs of its users. FEDLINK awards are given to both small library/information centers (with a staff of 10 or fewer federal and/or contract employees) and larger library/information centers (with a staff of 11 or more federal and/or contract employees). All nominations must be made on behalf of an entire library or information center (e.g., a main or branch library or information center).

Federal Librarian of the Year

This award honors a federal librarian who demonstrates active and innovative leadership and professionalism in the promotion and development of library and information services during fiscal year 2014. The nominee must be a federal employee and a practicing librarian in a federal library or information center.

Federal Library Technician of the Year

This award recognizes the achievements of a federal library technician during fiscal year 2014 for exceptional technical competency and flexibility under changing work conditions. The nominee must be a federal employee and a practicing paraprofessional or library technician in a federal library or information center. Federal staff classified in professional series are not eligible for this award, but may be eligible for nomination as Federal Librarian of the Year.

The Federal Library and Information Network (FEDLINK) is an organization of federal agencies working together to achieve best use of the resources and facilities of federal libraries and information centers by promoting common services, coordinating and sharing available resources, and providing continuing professional education for federal library and information staff. FEDLINK serves as a forum for discussion of the policies, programs, procedures and technologies that affect federal libraries and the information services they provide to their agencies, to the Congress, the federal courts and the American people.


PR 14-145
ISSN 0731-3527