February 2, 2015 Library of Congress Accepting Applications for 2015 Literacy Awards

March 31 Is Deadline

Press Contact: Guy Lamolinara (202) 707-9217
Public Contact: Center for the Book (202) 707-5221

Applications are now being accepted for the 2015 Library of Congress Literacy Awards, which are made possible through the generosity of David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and co-CEO of The Carlyle Group.

The trio of awards initiated by Rubenstein were first conferred in 2013 to support organizations working to alleviate the problems of illiteracy, both in the United States and worldwide. The awards seek to recognize organizations doing exemplary, innovative and easily replicable work over a sustained period of time and to encourage new groups, organizations and individuals to become involved.

The application rules and a downloadable application form may be accessed at www.read.gov/literacyawards/. Applications must be received no later than midnight on March 31, 2015.

Last year, the awards went to Room to Read (the Rubenstein Prize), SMART (the American Prize) and Mother Child Foundation (the International Prize). More information about these organizations and 14 other literacy leaders is available in “Library of Congress Literacy Awards 2014: Best Practices” at read.gov/documents/best-practices2014-for-web.pdf.

The Library of Congress Literacy Awards are administered by the Library’s Center for the Book. Final selection of prizewinners will be made by the Librarian of Congress with recommendations from literacy experts on an advisory board.

Three prizes to be awarded include:

The Rubenstein Prize ($150,000), awarded to an organization that has made outstanding and measurable contributions in increasing literacy levels and has demonstrated exceptional and sustained depth and breadth in its commitment to the advancement of literacy. The organization will meet the highest standards of excellence in its operations and services. This award may be given to any organization based either inside or outside the United States.

The American Prize ($50,000), awarded to an organization that has made a significant and measurable contribution to increasing literacy levels or the national awareness of the importance of literacy. This award may be given to any organization that is based in the United States.

The International Prize ($50,000), awarded to an organization or national entity that has made a significant and measurable contribution to increasing literacy levels. This award may be given to any organization that is based in a country outside the United States.

Founded in 1800, the Library of Congress is the nation’s oldest federal cultural institution and the largest library in the world. The Library seeks to spark imagination and creativity and to further human understanding and wisdom by providing access to knowledge through its magnificent collections, programs, publications and exhibitions. Many of the Library’s rich resources can be accessed through its website at www.loc.gov.

The Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, established by Congress in 1977 to “stimulate public interest in books and reading,” is a public-private partnership. It sponsors educational programs that reach readers of all ages through its affiliated state centers, through collaborations with nonprofit reading-promotion partners and through the Young Readers Center and the Poetry and Literature Center at the Library of Congress. For more information, visit read.gov.


PR 15-018
ISSN 0731-3527