February 19, 2021 Library Announces Spring Concert Programming for 2020-2021 Season

Virtual Series Continues with Performances from International Artists, Presentations on Classical Music, Jazz and Dance

Press Contact: Leah Knobel, lknobel@loc.gov
Website: Concerts from the Library of Congress

The Concerts from the Library of Congress season continues in March with performances from the New World Symphony, pianist Steven Osborne and the Dudok Quartet Amsterdam.

The Library of Congress will continue its critically acclaimed season of Concerts from the Library of Congress with an offering of virtual concerts, interviews and conversations with artists and composers, lectures, curator talks and educational programs. This spring’s events include dazzling performances and presentations in classical music, jazz and dance.

Consistent with social distancing and safety protocols in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the season is being presented entirely in an online format for the first time. All events will be made available at 8 p.m. ET on the scheduled premiere date on loc.gov/concerts, the Library’s YouTube channel and the Performing Arts at the Library of Congress Facebook page. All events of the season are free, and tickets are not required.

The spring series of the 2020-21 season kicks off on March 12 with a performance from the young musicians of the New World Symphony, followed by performances from Scottish pianist Steven Osborne on March 19 and the Dudok Quartet Amsterdam on March 26.

Dates for subsequent events of the season will be announced on a month-to-month basis. Patrons can find information about the concert series, including program updates at loc.gov/concerts and are also encouraged to subscribe to the Concerts & Performing Arts Events email alerts at loc.gov/subscribe/#music to receive updates on the coming month’s events.

Highlights of the season include two intimate chamber concert performances by the MET Orchestra Musicians, a special trio program and interview featuring Library of Congress Jazz Scholar Terri Lyne Carrington, an homage to great female singers in soul and jazz by vocalist and pianist Kandace Springs and a replication of a salon evening featuring music from the court of Louis XIII by the French period orchestra Ensemble Correspondances. A series of presentations will offer an inside look at the Library’s extensive dance collections.

The season’s performances will be presented with a constellation of interviews and online assets relating to the music performed — manuscripts, documents and artifacts only to be found at the world’s largest library. Patrons are also encouraged to make use of the Concerts from the Library of Congress LibGuide, which provides “best-of” selections of past lectures, concerts, conversations and collection items on a variety of musical topics.

Each program will be accessible at 8 p.m. ET unless otherwise noted.

Friday, March 12 
New World Symphony
Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas introduces a special Library mini-residency project for The New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy (NWS). Admired as a creative laboratory for the way music is taught, presented and experienced, NWS brings together brilliant young musicians for a fellowship program offering in-depth exposure to traditional and modern repertoire and professional development training. This program features a piano trio by Carlos Simon, a recipient of the 2021 Sphinx Medal for Excellence, who has recently received commissions from the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, and Washington National Opera, among others. 

Friday, March 19
Steven Osborne
Scottish pianist Steven Osborne performs the music of Debussy and Rachmaninoff, two specialties of the pianist, including works from the Library’s Sergei Rachmaninoff Collection.

Friday, March 26
Dudok Quartet Amsterdam
Dudok Quartet Amsterdam comes to the virtual stage with a program connecting Brahms with Webern and Ligeti. With its recordings garnering enthusiastic praise from publications like Gramophone, The Guardian and The Strad, the quartet is establishing a reputation as a dynamic ensemble with thoughtful programs that include their own transcriptions.

About the Music Division
The Music Division at the Library of Congress — formally established in 1897 within the Library’s Jefferson Building upon its completion — traces the origin of its collections to the 13 books on music literature and theory in Thoma­s Jefferson’s library, purchased by Congress in 1815. Founded in 1925, the “Concerts from the Library of Congress” series is made possible through the generous support of endowments gifted by private donors.

About the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the world’s largest library, offering access to the creative record of the United States — and extensive materials from around the world — both on-site and online. It is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. Explore collections, reference services and other programs and plan a visit at loc.gov; access the official site for U.S. federal legislative information at congress.gov; and register creative works of authorship at copyright.gov.


PR 21-008
ISSN 0731-3527