May 21, 1998 Vermont, Oklahoma Win Boorstin Center for the Book Awards

Press Contact: Craig D'Ooge (202) 707-9189

On May 4, Center for the Book Director John Y. Cole presented the 1998 Boorstin Center for the Book Awards to the Vermont and the Oklahoma Centers for the Book. Each of the annual awards includes a cash prize of $5,000.

The National Award, won by the Vermont Center for the Book, recognizes the contribution that a state center has made to the Center for the Book's overall program. The Vermont center's recruitment and involvement of other state centers in reading promotion initiatives was cited by Mr. Cole in making the award, which was accepted by Vermont center Executive Director Sally Anderson. The Vermont center became a Library of Congress affiliate in 1994.

The State Award, won by Oklahoma, recognizes a specific state center project or initiative. In presenting the award to Oklahoma Center for the Book Executive Director Glenda Carlile, Mr. Cole cited the success of the Oklahoma center's annual Oklahoma Book Awards program. The Oklahoma center became a Library of Congress affiliate in 1986, and established its awards program in 1990.

The Boorstin Awards are supported by a gift from Librarian of Congress Emeritus Daniel J. Boorstin and his wife, Ruth. Dr. Boorstin established the Center for the Book in 1977 to stimulate public interest in books, reading, literacy and libraries. Most of the Center for the Book's activities are funded by tax-deductible contributions from individuals, corporations, and foundations.

For information about the center and its network of 35 affiliated state centers, contact the Center for the Book, Library of Congress, 101 Indendendence Ave. S.E., Washington, DC 20540-4920, (202) 707-5221 (telephone), (202) 707-0269 (fax), or visit the center's site on the World Wide Web at:


PR 98-083
ISSN 0731-3527