June 4, 1998 "Americas Award" for Literature To Be Presented at the Library of Congress on June 29

Press Contact: Craig D'Ooge (202) 707-9189

The 1997 Americas Award, which recognizes the creators of U.S. books "that engagingly relate to Latin America, the Caribbean, or U.S. Latino cultures," will be presented at 4 p.m. on Monday, June 29, in the Mumford Room on the sixth floor of the James Madison Memorial Building. The 1997 winners are Francisco Jimenez for his book, The Circuit (University of New Mexico Press, 1997), author Regina Hanson and illustrator Linda Saport for their book, The Face at the Window (Clarion, 1997).

The Americas Award is sponsored by the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP). The awards ceremony on June 29 is hosted by the Hispanic Division and the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress. It is free and open to the public. For more information about the event, contact Reynaldo Aguirre, Hispanic Division, telephone (202) 707-2015.

For information about the Americas Award program, contact Julie Kline, Center for Latin American Studies Programs, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, P.O. Box 413, Milwaukee WI 53201, telephone (414) 229-5986, fax (414) 229-2879.


PR 98-094
ISSN 0731-3527