Top of page

Film, Video Margaret Leng Tan, Piano

Transcript: TEXT

About this Item


  • Margaret Leng Tan, Piano


  • The incomparable Margaret Leng Tan, champion of the American avant-garde and renowned for her advocacy of the music of John Cage and works for toy piano, offered a program of works new to the Coolidge stage. George Crumb wrote his first book of Metamorphoses for amplified piano for Tan, and she brings his recently completed second book of Metamorphoses to life here as the centerpiece of the program. It turned out to be his last completed work. We also heard a revival of a rarely heard and unpublished major work by Henry Cowell, as well as a classic piece for bowed piano by Christopher Hopkins. This performance was made possible in part through the generous support of the Randy Hostetler Living Room Music Fund.

    [0:19] Introduction, Susan Vita, Chief, Music Division
    [5:08] Christopher Hopkins, Arched Interiors II
    Henry Cowell, Changing Woman
    [17:57] Forest Voice
    [22:58] Wind Voice
    [27:23] Brook Voice
    [30:01] Earth Voice
    [34:36] Sea Voice
    [38:02] Desert Voice
    [41:55] Moon Voiec

    George Crumb, Metamorphoses, Book II
    [45:01] 1. Ancient Sound, Abstract on Black (Paul Klee, 1925)
    [49:38] 2. Landscape with Yellow Birds (Paul Klee, 1923)
    [53:35] 3. Christina's World (Andrew Wyeth, 1948)
    [58:24] 4. Purple Haze (Simon Dinnerstein, 1991)
    [1:03:43] 5. Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer (Lady in Gold) (Gustav Klimt, 1907)
    [1:06:21] 6. Spirit of the Dead Watching (Paul Gauguin, 1892)
    [1:10:24] 7. Guernica (Pablo Picasso, 1937)
    [1:18:03] 8. From the Faraway, Nearby (Georgia O'Keeffe, 1937)
    [1:21:50] 9. Easter (Marc Chagall, 1968)
    [1:26:13] 10. The Starry Night (Vincent van Gogh, 1889)

Event Date

  • October 13, 2023

Running Time

  • 1 hours 35 minutes 17 seconds

Online Format

  • video
  • image
  • online text

Rights & Access

While the Library of Congress created most of the videos in this collection, they include copyrighted materials that the Library has permission from rightsholders to present.  Rights assessment is your responsibility.  The written permission of the copyright owners in materials not in the public domain is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may also be content that is protected under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.  Permissions may additionally be required from holders of other rights (such as publicity and/or privacy rights). Whenever possible, we provide information that we have about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. However, the information we have may not be accurate or complete.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Credit Line: Library of Congress

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Margaret Leng Tan, Piano. 2023. Video.

APA citation style:

(2023) Margaret Leng Tan, Piano. [Video] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Margaret Leng Tan, Piano. 2023. Video. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.