Film, Video Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

About this Item

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg
The Alexander String Quartet and composer-pianist-musicologist Robert Greenberg, who has been called "the Elvis of music history and appreciation" unravel the mysteries and marvels of Beethoven's String Quartet op. 130, bringing to life the history, art, politics, intrigue and romance that have shaped this music. The Alexander String Quartet was formed in New York City in 1981.
Event Date
April 17, 2010
-  Robert Greenberg was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1954, and has lived in the San Francisco Bay Area since 1978. He received a BA in music, magna cum laude, from Princeton University in 1976. In 1984, Greenberg received a Ph.D. in music composition (with distinction) from the University of California, Berkeley, where his principal teachers were Andrew Imbrie and Olly Wilson in composition and Richard Felciano in analysis. Greenberg has composed over 45 works for a wide variety of instrumental and vocal ensembles. Recent performances of his works have taken place in New York, San Francisco, Chicago, Los Angeles, England, Ireland, Greece, Italy and the Netherlands, where his Child's Play for String Quartet was performed at the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam.
Related Resources
Concerts from the Library of Congress:
Running Time
2 hours 14 minutes 52 seconds
Online Format
Original Format
film, video

Rights & Access

While the Library of Congress created most of the videos in this collection, they include copyrighted materials that the Library has permission from rightsholders to present.  Rights assessment is your responsibility.  The written permission of the copyright owners in materials not in the public domain is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may also be content that is protected under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.  Permissions may additionally be required from holders of other rights (such as publicity and/or privacy rights). Whenever possible, we provide information that we have about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. However, the information we have may not be accurate or complete.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Credit Line: Library of Congress

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg. 2010. Video.

APA citation style:

(2010) Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg. [Video] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg. 2010. Video. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.

More Films, Videos like this