Top of page

Film, Video Gala: 2010 National Book Festival

Transcript: TEXT

About this Item


  • Gala: 2010 National Book Festival


  • The night before the 10th Anniversary of the National Book Festival, the Library of Congress hosted a gala honoring the festival authors and illustrators. The authors' program included remarks by Librarian of Congress James H. Billington; David M. Rubenstein, who with Dr. Billington co-chairs the National Book Festival Board; authors Isabel Allende, Ken Follett, Natasha Trethewey and Gordon S. Wood; and Congressman John B. Larson of Connecticut.

Event Date

  • September 24, 2010


  • -  A professor of history at Brown University, Gordon S. Wood is the author of "Creation of the American Republic, 1776-1787," which won the Bancroft Prize and the John H. Dunning Prize in 1970, and "The Radicalism of the American Revolution," which won the Pulitzer Prize for history and the Ralph Waldo Emerson Prize in 1993. "The Americanization of Benjamin Franklin" was awarded the Julia Ward Howe Prize by the Boston Authors Club in 2005. He has since written several critically acclaimed and widely read histories, including "Revolutionary Characters: What Made the Founders Different" and "The Purpose of the Past: Reflections on the Uses of History." His book in the Oxford History of the United States, called "Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789-1815" (Oxford University Press), was recently published. Wood is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society.
  • -  Natasha Trethewey was born in Gulfport, Miss. Her first poetry collection, "Domestic Work," won the inaugural 1999 Cave Canem poetry prize, a 2001 Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Book Prize and the 2001 Lillian Smith Award for Poetry. Her second collection, "Bellocq's Ophelia," received the 2003 Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Book Prize, was a finalist for both the Academy of American Poets' James Laughlin and Lenore Marshall prizes and was named a 2003 Notable Book by the American Library Association. Her work has appeared in several volumes of "Best American Poetry" and in journals such as Agni, American Poetry Review, Callaloo, Gettysburg Review, Kenyon Review, New England Review and The Southern Review, among others. Trethewey is a recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, the Bunting Fellowship Program of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University and the National Endowment for the Arts. Her most recent collection is "Native Guard," for which she won the 2007 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. Her new book of creative nonfiction is "Beyond Katrina: A Meditation on the Mississippi Gulf" (University of Georgia Press).
  • -  Ken Follett is one of the best-selling novelists in the world, having sold more than 100 million copies of his books. He became an instant sensation with his first novel, 1978's "Eye of the Needle," which later became a successful film. Since then, Follett has continued to captivate millions of readers with his taut, suspenseful thrillers. His current project is his most ambitious yet: The Century Trilogy will relate the history of the 20th century, as seen through the eyes of five linked families: one American, one English, one German, one Russian and one Welsh. The first book, "Fall of Giants" (Penguin), focuses on World War I and the Russian Revolution. Follett is already at work on the second book in the series, provisionally titled "The Winter of the World," about the Spanish Civil War, World War II and the development of nuclear weapons. Follett lives in England.
  • -  Isabel Allende is a best-selling Chilean-American writer who was born in Lima, where her father, Tomas Allende, was Chile's ambassador to Peru. Her uncle was Chilean President Salvador Allende, who was assassinated in 1973 during a military coup. Believing it was unsafe to remain in Chile, Isabel, her husband and two children fled to Venezuela. While in exile, she wrote her first novel, "The House of the Spirits," which was made into a film in 1994. Isabel Allende's works weave elements of magical-realism into her stories of women and their struggles. Since then, Allende has written many novels and other works, such as plays and children's stories. Her most recent novel is "The Island Beneath the Sea" (HarperCollins). Allende received the 2010 Library of Congress National Book Festival Creative Achievement Award.

Running Time

  • 1 hours 2 minutes 59 seconds

Online Format

  • video
  • image
  • online text

Rights & Access

While the Library of Congress created most of the videos in this collection, they include copyrighted materials that the Library has permission from rightsholders to present.  Rights assessment is your responsibility.  The written permission of the copyright owners in materials not in the public domain is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may also be content that is protected under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.  Permissions may additionally be required from holders of other rights (such as publicity and/or privacy rights). Whenever possible, we provide information that we have about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. However, the information we have may not be accurate or complete.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Credit Line: Library of Congress

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Gala:National Book Festival. 2010. Video.

APA citation style:

(2010) Gala:National Book Festival. [Video] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Gala:National Book Festival. 2010. Video. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.