Film, Video Louis Lortie & Hélène Mercier, Piano

About this Item

Louis Lortie & Hélène Mercier, Piano
Pianists Louis Lortie & Hélène Mercier perform the two-piano music of Arensky, Rachmaninoff and Medtner, alongside a four-hand work by Ravel. This concert celebrated the acquisition by the Library of Congress of the holograph manuscript of Rachmaninoff's Symphonic Dances for two pianos. The program includes Sergei Rachmaninoff, Fantaisie-tableaux (Suite no. 1), op. 5 [4:47]; Nikolai Medtner, Russian Round Dance (A Tale), op. 58/1 [28:26]; Maurice Ravel, Rapsodie Espagnole [35:24]; Anton Arensky, Suite no. 1, op. 15 [51:18]; and Sergei Rachmaninoff, Symphonic Dances [1:05:20].
Event Date
April 11, 2018
Related Resources
Concerts at the Library of Congress:
Running Time
1 hours 38 minutes 51 seconds
Online Format

Rights & Access

While the Library of Congress created most of the videos in this collection, they include copyrighted materials that the Library has permission from rightsholders to present.  Rights assessment is your responsibility.  The written permission of the copyright owners in materials not in the public domain is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may also be content that is protected under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.  Permissions may additionally be required from holders of other rights (such as publicity and/or privacy rights). Whenever possible, we provide information that we have about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. However, the information we have may not be accurate or complete.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Credit Line: Library of Congress

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

Louis Lortie & Hélène Mercier, Piano. 2018. Video.

APA citation style:

(2018) Louis Lortie & Hélène Mercier, Piano. [Video] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

Louis Lortie & Hélène Mercier, Piano. 2018. Video. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.

More Films, Videos like this