The Library of Congress > National Jukebox > Browse all Recordings > Na zahrádce (Valčík)

WARNING: These historical recordings may contain offensive or inappropriate language. Full disclaimer

This content requires a web browser with Javascript enabled and Adobe Flash Player 10+external link

  • Recording Title

    Na zahrádce (Valčík)

  • Other Title(s)

    • Vo kvetnatej záhrade (Valčik) (Parallel (translated) title)
    • Kukkatarhassa valssi (Parallel (translated) title)
    • Gēliu daržialyi (Parallel (translated) title)
    • W ogrodzie kwiatow (Walc) (Parallel (translated) title)
  • Musical group

    Weber's Band

  • Vocal group

    Bratři Veselý

  • Composer

    Emil Stolc

  • Conductor

    LeRoy Shield

  • Baritone vocal

    František A. Pangrác , Emilio Blažević

  • Genre(s)

    Ethnic music

  • Marketing Genre(s)

    Bohemian (Czech); German; Polish; Finnish; Lithuanian; Slovak

  • Category

    Instrumental with vocal refrain

  • Description

    Band, with male vocal duet (takes 1 and 2); band only (take 3)

  • Language


  • Instrumentation

    2 clarinets, flugelhorn, 2 cornets, tuba, baritone horn, and traps

  • Label Name/Number

    Victor 77638

  • Matrix Number/Take Number


  • Recording Date


  • Place of Recording

    New York, New York

  • Size


  • Duration


  • Notes

    The Victor blue history card indicates that take 2 was issued, possibly as Vi 77638.

    It is not confirmed which catalog numbers were released from which take(s); current attribution based on discs found in the UCSB collection.

    The Victor blue history card indicates that take 2 was issued, possibly as Vi 77638.

  • Related Takes

  • Rights & Access

    This recording is protected by state copyright laws in the United States. The Library of Congress has obtained a license from rights holders to offer it as streamed audio only. Downloading is not permitted. The authorization of rights holders of the recording is required in order to obtain a copy of the recording. Contact [email protected] for more information.


    Source of original recording: Department of Special Collections, Davidson Library, University of California, Santa Barbara. Inclusion of the recording in the National Jukebox, courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment.


The National Jukebox is a project of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation. The goal of the Jukebox is to present to the widest audience possible early commercial sound recordings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

These selections are presented as part of the record of the past. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these recordings, which may contain content offensive to users.

About National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Find out more

First Time Here?

Find out about playlisting, what “matrix” means, and other ways to get the most from the National Jukebox.