News from the Library of Congress

November 2017

October 2017

  • October 23, 2017  (17-156)
    Swann Foundation Announces Award Fellowships for 2017-2018 The Caroline and Erwin Swann Foundation for Caricature and Cartoon, administered by the Library of Congress, is awarding fellowships to four applicants for the academic year 2017-2018. Recipients are affiliated with Fordham, Boston and Cornell universities and The Graduate Center at New York University.Olivia Badoi, a doctoral candidate in English at Fordham University, is investigating the relationships among the genres of the woodcut novel,...
    • Date: 2017-10-23
  • October 18, 2017  (17-147)
    Library's Koussevitzky Foundation Announces Commission Winners The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress has awarded commissions for new musical works to six composers. The commissions are granted jointly by the foundation and the performing organizations that will present performances of the newly composed works.Award winners and the groups co-sponsoring their commissions are Jérôme Combier and Argento New Music Project, Georg Friedrich Haas and Third Coast Percussion, Yotam...
    • Date: 2017-10-18

September 2017

August 2017

July 2017

  • July 11, 2017  (17-099)
    Prize for American Fiction to Be Awarded Posthumously to Denis Johnson Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden announced today that Denis Johnson, author of the critically acclaimed collection of short stories “Jesus’ Son” and the novel “Tree of Smoke,” will posthumously receive the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction during the 2017 Library of Congress National Book Festival, Sept. 2.The National Book Festival and the prize ceremony will take place at the Walter E. Washington...
    • Date: 2017-07-11
  • July 10, 2017  (17-094)
    Walkowicz Named Astrobiology Chair at Kluge Center Lucianne Walkowicz will hold the fifth Baruch S. Blumberg NASA/Library of Congress Chair in Astrobiology in the John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress. She will begin on Oct. 1, 2017, and be in residence for 12 months.Walkowicz is an astronomer at the Adler Planetarium, in Chicago, where she studies stellar magnetic activity and its influence on planetary habitability, using data from...
    • Date: 2017-07-10

June 2017

May 2017

  • May 5, 2017  (17-064)
    FEDLINK Announces Annual Awards for Federal Librarianship The Federal Library and Information Network (FEDLINK) has announced the winners of its national awards for federal librarianship, which recognize the many innovative ways that federal libraries, librarians and library technicians fulfill the information demands of government, business, scholarly communities and the American public.FEDLINK will honor the 2016 award winners at the FEDLINK Spring Exposition on May 9, 2017, at the Library of Congress...
    • Date: 2017-05-05

January 2017

  • January 31, 2017  (17-013)
    Stephen King Joins Library in Announcing Applications for the 2017 Literacy Awards Award-winning author and literacy advocate Stephen King helped the Library of Congress today launch its call for nominations for the 2017 Library of Congress Literacy Awards. The annual awards support organizations working to promote literacy, both in the United States and worldwide, and are made possible through the generosity of David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and co-CEO of The Carlyle Group.No one person or group...
    • Date: 2017-01-31
  • January 12, 2017  (17-002)
    New Scholars Working on American Film, History and Library Studies Arrive at Kluge Center Four distinguished scholars—David Bordwell, Timothy Breen, Jose Casanova and Wayne Wiegand—began residencies at the John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress on Jan. 9.  They will conduct research at the Library for four months.David Bordwell, the Jacques Ledoux Professor of Film Studies Emeritus at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, is a film theorist and historian. He has written more than 15 volumes...
    • Date: 2017-01-12