Library of Congress

Poetry and Literature

The Library of Congress > Poetry & Literature > Prizes and Fellowships
{ site_name: 'Poetry', subscribe_url:'/share/sites/library-of-congress/poetry.php' }
Richard Ford - 2019 Prize for American Fiction Prze

Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction

The annual Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction honors an American literary writer whose body of work is distinguished not only for its mastery of the art but also for its originality of thought and imagination. The award seeks to commend strong, unique, enduring voices that—throughout long, consistently accomplished careers—have told us something revealing about the American experience. The most recent winner of the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction is Richard Ford.

View all prize recipients

Jorie Graham

Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry

The biennial, privately funded $10,000 prize recognizes the most distinguished book of poetry written by an American and published during the preceding two years. The prize is donated by the family of the late Mrs. Bobbitt of Austin, Tex., in her memory, and established at the Library of Congress. The 2018 Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry was awarded to Jorie Graham for her book Fast.

The Library of Congress is now accepting nominations from publishers for the prize. Applications must be submitted electronically to [email protected] by July 15, 2020. Ledarn more and view past prize recipients