Top of page

Program National Book Festival


“Are people willing to get up on a chilly, rainy day and go to #NatBookFest just to see their favorite authors? YES YES YES YES YES YES YES.”

Washington Post Book World editor Ron Charles

“Some kid just dabbed on David McCullough and ran away at the #nationalbookfestival”

— Festivalgoer Thomas Maluck

Novelist Denis Johnson was posthumously awarded the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction.

The 2017 Library of Congress Literacy Awards were given to the Children’s Literacy Initiative, the National Center for Families and Learning, and Pratham Books.

Featured authors, illustrators, poets, and storytellers included:

  • Margot Lee Shetterly, author of Hidden Figures
  • Former Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice
  • Highly honored journalist and author Cokie Roberts
  • Historian David McCullough
  • Diana Gabaldon, creator of Outlander

View the 2017 Festival Program (PDF, 9.28MB)