Top of page

Program National Film Preservation Board

Board Members

The National Film Preservation Board serves as a public advisory group to the Librarian of Congress. The Board consists of 44 members and alternates representing the film industry, archives, scholars, filmmakers and others who comprise the diverse American motion picture community. As its primary mission, the Board works to ensure the survival, conservation and increased public availability of America's film heritage, including: advising the Librarian on the annual selection of films to the National Film Registry, and counseling the Librarian on ongoing development and implementation of the national film preservation plan.

Members of the National Film Preservation Board 1988-2021 (PDF, 118KB)

NFPB Study Groups and Issues Task Forces (PDF, 375KB)

Current Board Members

  • Board Chair
    Dr. Jacqueline Stewart
  • Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
    Member: Reginald Hudlin
    Alternate: Marcus Hu
  • Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers
    Member: Carol Lombardini
    Alternate: Tracy Cahill
  • American Film Institute
    Member: John Ptak
    Alternate: Tim Lanza
  • American Society of Cinematographers/Int’l Cinematographers Guild
    Member: Ellen Kuras
    Alternate: Michael Pessah
  • Association of Moving Image Archivists
    Member: Laura Rooney
    Alternate: CK Ming
  • Directors Guild of America
    Member: Martin Scorsese
    Alternate: Christopher Nolan
  • Motion Picture Association of America
    Member: Charles Rivkin
    Alternate: Karyn Temple
  • National Association of Theatre Owners
    Member: Joseph Masher
    Alternate: Michael O’Leary
  • National Society of Film Critics
    Member: Dave Kehr
    Alternate: David Sterritt
  • New York University Tisch School
    Member: Josslyn Luckett
    Alternate: Dan Streible
  • Screen Actors Guild/AFTRA
    Member: Richard Masur
    Alternate: Valerie Yaros
  • Society for Cinema and Media Studies
    Member: Miriam Petty
    Alternate: Allyson Nadia Field
  • Society of Composers and Lyricists
    Member: Ashley Irwin
    Alternate: Cindy O’Connor
  • US Members of FIAF
    Member: Susan Oxtoby
    Alternate: Rajendra Roy
  • University Film and Video Association
    Member: Ben Levin
    Alternate: Suzanne Regan
  • UCLA Library
    Member: May Hong HaDuong
    Alternate: Virginia Steel
  • Writers Guild of America
    Member: WGA West: Howard Rodman
    Alternate: WGA East: Malcolm Lee
  • At-Large Representatives
    Rafael Agustin
    Margaret Bodde
    Brenda Castillo
    Grover Crisp
    Lacey Schwartz Delgado
    Charles Ramirez Berg
    Bird Runningwater
    M. Night Shyamalan
    Dr. Jacqueline Stewart
    Alfre Woodard
  • Pro Bono Counsel
    Eric Schwartz

Contact Us

Comments, questions, and suggestions related to National Film Preservation Board and this website can be sent to us online.


National Film Preservation Board
Library of Congress
Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation
19053 Mt. Pony Road
Culpeper, VA 22701-7551