Top of page

Program National Recording Preservation Plan

Radio Preservation Task Force

The Radio Preservation Task Force (RPTF), created early in 2014, grows out of the Library of Congress National Recording Preservation Plan (December 2012, see:, and seeks to:

  1. To support collaboration between faculty researchers and archivists toward the preservation of radio history
  2. To develop an online inventory of extant American radio archival collections, focusing on recorded sound holdings, including research aids
  3. To identify and save endangered collections
  4. To develop pedagogical guides for utilizing radio and sound archives
  5. To act as a clearing house to encourage and expand academic study on the cultural history of radio through the location of grants, the creation of research caucuses, and development of metadata on extant materials

See 2023 Radio Preservation Conference materials

Download Conference Program (PDF, 1.6MB)

RPTF Sound Collections Database: External
Sound Submissions Project

Task Force Directors

RPTF Director & NRPB Fellow

Shawn Vancour

Chair & SSP Director

Josh Shepperd
University of Colorado Boulder


Michele Hilmes
University of Wisconsin Madison


Christopher H. Sterling
George Washington University

Conference Director

Neil Verma

Metadata Directors

Mark Matienzo
Stanford University

Emily Goodmann
Northeastern University

Online Content Managers

Ingrid Ockert
University of California Berkeley

Christopher Brown
UMass Boston

Research Division

Catherine Martin
Denison University

Noah Arceneaux
San Diego State University

Heather Birks
Broadcast Education Association

Amanda Keeler
Marquette University

Rick Popp
University of Wisconsin Milwaukee

Alexander Russo
Catholic University

Preservation Division

Yuri Shimoda
Disney Music Group

Brandon Burke
Iron Mountain Library and Archival Services

Patrick Feaster
Indiana University

Maristella Feustle
University of North Texas + NRPB

Stacy Kowalcyk
Dominican University

John Vallier
University of Washington Seattle

Education Division

Lauren Bratslavsky
Illinois State

Kit Hughes
Colorado State

Allison Perlman
University of California Irvine

Stephanie Sapienza
University of Maryland MITH + SSP

Allison Schein Holmes

RPTF Graduate Student Council

Laura Brown
University of Texas Austin

Christoher DeCou
University of Michigan Ann Arbor

Laura Garbes
Brown University

Maureen Mauk
University of Wisconsin Madison

Luz Ruiz

University of Colorado Boulder

Eric Silberberg

Brad Schwartz

Partnerships and Collaborations

Contact the Task Force