Skip Navigation Links The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Hispanic Reading Room (Area Studies, Library of Congress)

The Annual Reports of the Hispanic Division

1939-1940 | 1940-1941 | 1941-1942 | 1942-1943 | 1943-1944

Each year divisions of the Library of Congress submit annual reports describing their activities for the year. The first Hispanic Division annual report was submitted in 1940. The annual reports do not cover calendar years, but rather fiscal years, the parameters of which have changed over the years. At times the fiscal year ran from July through June. Today it is from October through September.

The text of these reports was taken from the copies retained in the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The text is reproduced as presented in the reports. The originals are available for researchers in the Library of Congress Archives held in the Manuscript Reading Room.

The following shows the name of the division and the supervisors throughout its history:


  • Hispanic Foundation (1939-1974)
  • Latin American, Portuguese, and Spanish Division (1975-1977)
  • Hispanic Division (1978-present)


  • Lewis U. Hanke (1939-1951)
  • Howard F. Cline (1952-1971)
  • Mary Ellis Kahler ( 1973-1978)
  • William E. Carter (1978-1983)
  • Sara Castro Klaren (1984-1986)
  • Cole Blasier (1988-1993)
  • Georgette M. Dorn (1994-2018)
  • Suzanne M. Schadl (2018-present)


Sketch of the Hispanic Reading Room by architect Paul Philippe Cret, 1939
  up button Top of Page
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
External Link Disclaimer Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian