Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Alaska


Current Laureate:
Vacant (official title: State Writer Laureate)

Start of Term:
October 10, 2012

Position History:
According to the Alaska State Council on the Arts: "The Juneau Poetry Society created the Poet Laureate Program in the early 1960s. In 1963, under House Resolution 25, the position of Poet Laureate was officially confirmed by the Legislature. In 1987 AKSCA's Literary Advisory Committee began to oversee the selection process with the assistance of past poet laureates. In 1996, the Council acted to broaden the position to that of State Writer, recognizing and honoring all genres of writing. The State Writer position is a two-year appointment."

Previous Laureates:
Margaret Mielke (1963-1965)
Oliver Everette (1965-1967)
John Haines (appointed 1969)
Ruben Gaines (appointed 1973)
Sheila Nickerson (appointed 1977)
Richard Dauenhauer (appointed 1981)
Joanne Townsend (appointed 1988)
Tom Sexton (appointed 1995)
Richard Nelson (appointed 2000)
Anne Hanley (2002-2004)
Jerah Chadwick (October 2004-September 2006)
John Straley (October 2006-September 2008)
Nancy Lord (October 1, 2008-September 2010)
Peggy Shumaker (October 1, 2010-September 2012)
Nora Marks Dauenhauer (October 10, 2012-October 2014)

Further Resources:

  • Alaska State Council on the Arts' Literary Arts page includes a brief history of the State Writer Laureate, a list of former State Writers, and selection criteria for the position.

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Alaska
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian