Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Idaho


Current Laureate:
Diane Raptosh (Official Title: Writer-in-Residence)

Start of Term:
July 1, 2013

Position History:
The position of Idaho Poet Laureate was established in 1923 with the appointment of Irene Welsh Grissom by Governor C. C. Moore. Following the death of Sudie Stuart Hager in 1982, the position was changed to Writer-in-Residence. A detailed history of the Writer-in-Residence award is available from the Idaho Commission on the Arts.

Previous Laureates:
Irene Welsh Grissom (1923-1948)
Sudie Stuart Hager (1949-1982)
Ron McFarland (1984-1985) (first person named Writer-in-Residence)
Robert Wrigley (1986-1987)
Eberle Umbach (1988-1989)
Neidy Messer (1990-1991)
Daryl Jones (1992-1993)
Clay Morgan (1994-1995)
Lance Olsen (1996-1998)
Bill Johnson (1999-2000)
Jim Irons (July 2, 2001-2004)
Kim Barnes (April 2004-2006)
Anthony "Tony" Doerr (July 2007-July 2010)
Brady Udall (July 1, 2010-June 20, 2013)

Further Resources:
Publications by Diane Raptosh in the Library's online catalog.

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Idaho
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian