Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Illinois


Current Laureate:
Kevin Stein

Start of Term:
December 11, 2003

Position History:
Position established January 14, 1936 with the appointment of Howard Austin by Governor Edward J. Hughs. The position was a lifetime appointment until 2003, when Governor Rod R. Blagojevich revised the guidelines for the position, making it a four-year renewable term. The term of current poet laureate Kevin Stein will end on December 1, 2017.

On June 30, 2020, Governor Pritzker proclaimed singer-songwriter John Prine the firstHonorary Poet Laureate of the state.

Previous Laureates:
Howard Austin (January 14, 1936-April 1, 1962)
Carl Sandburg (February 28, 1962-July 22, 1967)
Gwendolyn Brooks (January 3, 1968-December 4, 2000)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Illinois
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  July 14, 2020
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian