Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Kentucky


Current Laureate:
Jeff Worley

Start of Term:
April 24, 2019

Position History:
Position established 1926 by act of the General Assembly. First laureate was James T. Cotton Noe. Prior to 1990, poets were appointed by the General Assembly to lifetime terms, and several poets held the position simultaneously. In 1990, new legislation (Kentucky Code, Sec. 153.600) provided for appointment by the governor to a two-year term. Additional information about the position is available through the Kentucky Arts Council website.

Previous Laureates:
James Thomas Cotton Noe (March 1926-Nov. 9, 1953)
Edward G. Hill (Oct 1., 1928-Nov. 8, 1937)
Louise Scott Phillips (1945-1983)
Edwin Carlisle Litsey (1954-Feb. 3, 1970)
Jesse Hilton Stuart (1954-1984)
Lowell Allen Williams (appointed 1956)
Lillie D. Chaffin (appointed 1974)
Tom Mobley (appointed 1976)
Agnes O'Rear (March 7, 1978-1990)
Clarence "Soc" Clay (appointed 1984)
Lee Pennington (appointed 1984)
Paul Salyers (appointed 1984)
Dale Faughn (appointed 1986)
Jim Wayne Miller (appointed 1986)
Henry E. Pilkenton (appointed 1986)
James H. Patton (appointed 1990)
James Still (1995-1996)
Joy Bale Boone (1997-1998)
Richard Taylor (1999-2000)
James Baker Hall (2001-2002)
Joe Survant (2003-2004)
Sena Jeter Naslund (2005-2006)
Jane Gentry Vance (2007-2008)
Gurney Norman (2009-2010)
Maureen Morehead (2011-2012)
Frank X Walker (April 24, 2013-2015)
George Ella Lyon (April 24, 2015-2016)
Frederick Smock (May 1, 2017-2019)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Kentucky
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  June 7, 2019
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian