Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Maine


Current Laureate:
Stuart Kestenbaum

Start of Term
March 24, 2016

Position History:
Position established June 2, 1995 (Maine Public Law 1995, chapter 264); codified in Title 27, Chapter 15, Subchapter 2 of the Maine Revised Statutes. The State Poet Laureate is appointed for a five-year term and may be reappointed for a second term. The current state poet, Wesley McNair, was selected unanimously by the Maine Arts Commission.

Previous Laureates:
Kate Barnes (1996-1999)
Baron Wormser (March 2000-October 2005)
Betsy Sholl (April 19, 2006-March 2011)
Wesley McNair (March 11, 2011-March 23, 2016)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Maine
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  February 23, 2018
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian