Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Humanities and Social Sciences Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Montana


Current Laureates:
Melissa Kwasny and Mandy Smoker Broaddus

Start of Term:
July 31, 2019

Position History:
Senate Bill 69 , which creates the honorary, unpaid post of Montana state poet laureate, was signed into law by Gov. Brian Schweitzer on March 24, 2005. The first Montana state poet laureate, Sandra Alcosser, was appointed by Gov. Schweitzer on July 13, 2005. Laureates serve a two-year term. The current poets laureate, Melissa Kwasny and Mandy Smoker Broaddus, are the first to share the position.

Previous Laureates:
Sandra Alcosser (July 13, 2005-July 13, 2007)
Greg Pape (August 14, 2007-September 2009)
Henry Real Bird (September 25, 2009-August 2011)
Sheryl Noethe (August 2, 2011-July 31, 2013)
Tami Haaland (August 1, 2013-October 22, 2015)
Michael Earl Craig (October 23, 2015-July 31, 2017)
Lowell Jaeger (August 1, 2017-July 30, 2019)

Further Resources:

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Montana
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  August 9, 2019
Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian