Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Main Reading Room (Researcher and Reference Services Division)
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Nebraska


Current Laureate:
Matt Mason

Start of Term:
February 25, 2019 (view installation ceremony)

Position History:
Position of Poet Laureate established 1921 with the naming of John G. Neihardt by Legislature. Position title changed to State Poet when William Kloefkorn was appointed by Governor Charles Thone September 11, 1982, on the recommendation of an ad hoc committee headed by the executive director of the Nebraska Humanities Council. John G. Neihardt and William Kloefkorn served lifetime appointments. Twyla Hansen's appointment served a five year term. The most recently appointed laureate, Matt Mason, is serving a five year, renewable term.

As noted by the Nebraska Library Commission:

The Nebraska State Poet will be chosen based on artistic excellence, exemplary professionalism demonstrated by significant publications and special honors, an established history of community service in the advancement of poetry in Nebraska, and the ability to present poetry and interact effectively with a public audience. In addition, the State Poet must be a legal, full-time resident for at least three years prior to the application deadline and must maintain Nebraska residence during his or her full term of office.

Previous Laureates:
John G. Neihardt (1921-November 3, 1973)
William Kloefkorn(September 11, 1982-May 19, 2011)
Twyla M. Hansen(December 1, 2013-January 2019)

<<< Previous State     Next State >>>

Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Guides >> State Poets >> Nebraska
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  July 15, 2020
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:
Ask a Librarian